Best city placements for various civs

killerkebab

Prince
I'm new to Civ and RFC (I've probably played more RFC than Civ now, and I've not really played either) and kinda suck at the game but I'm trying to win UHVs for most of the civs. What I enjoy about the game is city placement and trying to place cities that I've been to or generally big places I've heard a lot of. However in the case of some Civs like America city placement is a headache for me: I can build my favourite towns all night long, but where should I be placing cities?

I thought I'd start a thread (apologies if this has been done already) where players can list what civs they enjoy playing and which towns they like to settle/conquer and keep under their control. If you can, keep them in order. Obviously this is wasted on civs like Turkey which appear at a time when all the land is settled.

*Capital City
America:
Washington*
New York
Jacksonville
Toronto (1 Tile S of Ft. Albany, on the forest)
Chicago
Denver (On the wheat, next to the river and the corn)
New Orleans
Dallas (1 tile N of the oil)
Saskatoon
Vancouver
Reno (2 tiles E of the deer)
Los Angeles

Occasionally Guantanamo and Halifax. To date I have never managed a win as America - maybe my city placement is to blame?

Germany:
Berlin
Frankfurt*
Budapest (1 Tile S of the deer, right where the river takes a turn)
Riga
Kiev (Faustindorf)
Rome
Istanbul
Athens
Paris
Moscow
Oslo
London

I tried looking for Sarajevo but I must suck at geography. Anyone know which spot I want?

Danzig is much better, one tile to the NW of the starting tile (Berlin). Coastal city (has more buildings and trade options), gets to work the Swedish Fish and Pig resources and doesn't overlap with Frankfurt.