1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Best Form of Government

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by lazarus319l, Aug 26, 2008.

1. lazarus319l

lazarus319l Chieftain

Ok So I'm sure this issue has been covered in other threads but I'm new to CIVIII PTW so please be patient and/or link the other threads.

I am trying to play on Monarch level and wanted to know a few things on governments. I typically plan as Persions or Mayans, going towards a culture victory but often waring with nieghbors to take over resources/GW.

I was wondering what is considered the best form of Government for these cultures and how often should 1 change governments in a game? I've read once and only once but wasn't quite sure the reasoning behind that....

thanks for helping this newbie out.

2. AndrewN

AndrewN Prince

Hmm, difficult question.

IMO unless you are doing a lot of fighting then you will probably want to be a republic. If the game is going to be very fighting heavy (i.e. fighting almost continuously) then Monarchy is the government of choice. In Republic the only problem you are going to have is with war weariness so Monarchy is the government of choice for an always war game and similar.

The basic idea is to change governments once. Wait until you have the required tech and change.

All other government types except Communism and Democracy are considered a waste of time. Communism and Democracy do have their advocates to replace Monarchy and Republic respectively, but I don't normally bother with them.

3. Globex

Globex President Scorpio