1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

best way to set a rally point

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by krp312, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. krp312

    krp312 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    what do you do?
     
  2. goldenhero

    goldenhero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    I don't think I've ever used a rally point. If I did I would probably forget to change it when something important comes up.
     
  3. noto

    noto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Yes, with large empires and lots of units pumping out, you need a rally point, for micro management purposes. I take the OP to be asking the question of how to set it. If that's not your question, then I don't understand. There is no mention of how to set the rally point in the civpedia, so if you lost the manual it can be frustrating figuring out how. What you do is click the city bar and then hold down shift and then right click the tile you want to send the troops to. You will see a little yellow circle around it. That means that the city who's bar you clicked will send its troops to that circle. If you want to do this on continent wide basis, simply hold alt and click a city bar, you will then select all cities in your empire. Now just hold shift and right click a tile and all the cities on that continent will send troops to that spot. Hope that helps ;)
     
  4. krp312

    krp312 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    hah thank you good sir, that's what i was looking for

    actually while i'm here, i got another q if that's alright. i've just taken a city from an enemy, and right by the city name is a fist with a colon and number. what does that number mean?
     
  5. endymion

    endymion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Netherlands
    that number is how many turns are left before the city comes out of revolt
     
  6. Dirk1302

    Dirk1302 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,578
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Anyone knows how to delete a rally point? I usually set it into the ocean if i don't need it anymore but this has some (obvious) disadvantages too. It should be easy but i never quite figured it out.
     
  7. IronCrown

    IronCrown Black Foe of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Set it to a city while that city is selected.
     
  8. Dirk1302

    Dirk1302 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,578
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thx IronCrown
     
  9. xanadux

    xanadux Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    700
    Yeah, it's a bummer when all your medieval age units drown because their armour is so heavy.
     
  10. skyline5k

    skyline5k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Shanghai, the Middle Kingdom
    I guess this is a bit old, but it did answer my first question. My second... How do you undo a continental rally point? Can't set it to one city, or other cities will all just flock there.
     
  11. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,118
    Location:
    Orlando
    Trebs would definitely float though :lol:, unless they've got the boulders they lob attached.
     
  12. mystyfly

    mystyfly Knight of Cydonia

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    CH
    Does anyone read those messages when loading? Rally points is one of them.

    OTOH every one seems to know not to fight land wars in asia :lol:
     
  13. vicawoo

    vicawoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,226
    So do ducks.
     
  14. Solid

    Solid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Sweden
    Would that make the duck a witch!!!
     
  15. kazapp

    kazapp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,051
    I would like an answer for this as well.
     
  16. mystyfly

    mystyfly Knight of Cydonia

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    CH
    ...

    10char
     
  17. Ibian

    Ibian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    850
    That doesnt delete the rally point, it just resets its position. And it has to be done for each city manyally.

    Is there an easy way to remove rally points as opposed to merely moving them around? I kinda wanna use them but its such a damn pain to manage them.
     
  18. Balderstrom

    Balderstrom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    Eris explains in pretty good detail over here
     
  19. Perugia

    Perugia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    Lancing, UK
    Just refer to the GameText_Strategy.xml Strategy Article in the War Academy.
    The tips you mention are numbers 356 and 398.
     
  20. mystyfly

    mystyfly Knight of Cydonia

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    CH
    356 is not exactly how I remember it. I use BUG mod, that must've affected those so the one I remember says clearly how to remove them. 356 in the original version is not that clear tbh.

    398 is great though :lol:
     

Share This Page