1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Big Map Testing

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by 1SDAN, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,778
    Please use hospital's version, linked below. It is much further along in development.
    Spoiler Original Post :

    Since I haven't had much modding to do lately, I decided that I might as well use my ample free time to see what gameplay on the big map would be like. So I spent a handful of hours over the last 3 days setting up the Cores, Flip Zones, Settler Maps, and War Maps of the pre-Byzantine big map civs. I tried to change every python value that would impact pre 330 AD gameplay, and I have now gotten the big map into a roughly playable state.

    The areas chosen per civ are based on the small map's gameplay situation. In an attempt to replicate that gameplay as closely as possible, the Ethiopian core has become very... bizarre. Suggestions and pull requests for that and any other issues are greatly appreciated.

    I have yet to work on the UHVs so depending on what they are and the state they were on Leoreth's branch they may be more or less unplayable. I have also not yet started work on the City Name Manager as that would take an absurd amount of work to do by hand for every pre 330 AD language.

    I would never have been able to make these changes so rapidly if it weren't for the World Builder Core, Settler, and War Map Edit and Export features.

    If anyone knows what the Normal and Broader Areas do and represent please tell me. I've done a bit of searching but outside of being somehow involved in stability when controlling enemy cities I have zero clue. I've yet to make any changes to them, as I'd rather not mess with values I don't understand.

    This is a very early test build of the new map intended to serve as something to occupy my free time and satiate my curiosity of what playing on it is like. It will almost certainly not work correctly sometime after the Byzantines spawn in 330 AD in its current form, so I will not address bugs that occur after the spawn of the latest implemented civ.

    I will continue implementing civs in the coming weeks. I also plan to eventually attempt to get this version up to date with DoC's latest develop. Should any updates come out for the official big map I will merge them into this.

    Github Repo: https://github.com/earthcrafterman/Dawn-of-Civilization/tree/map_implementation
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
  2. h0spitall3rz

    h0spitall3rz Grand Vizier of Your Mind

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, PHL
    I've already completed Areas.py and all settler and war maps, albeit with minor edits to the terrain. I'll try to push everything up today when I get a stable WiFi connection. I didn't touch on the Normal and Broader areas anymore though as I have no full knowledge on them, but afaik it's all about the revealed area on spawn.
     
  3. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    Good job! I begin as China and everything is good. The core area is a little large, but the game itself is perfect.

    Now I try to begin as America, hope it can auto-run to 1775ad.
     
    Crimean Lord likes this.
  4. h0spitall3rz

    h0spitall3rz Grand Vizier of Your Mind

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, PHL
    My work on the big map is up--it can be found here. I already merged it with the latest state of develop. I made various small changes across the map, mostly moving resources a bit. Full changelog to follow later :) I also created 600 AD and 1700 AD scenarios out of boredom and impatience. I know all these efforts are gonna be futile once more major map changes are incorporated, but I think it's worth it for the meantime. :lol:

    PS: The map is based on the latest commit of the map branch upstream, and I'm not sure which of the many suggestions in the Map Suggestions development thread will be incorporated by Leo (especially finbros's Russia proposal), so I decided not to put them in first. Also, I think I overdid the 600 AD and 1700 AD scenarios (mainly too many cities and too much infrastructure and improvements?), so just let me know :)

    PPS: I forgot to include this! Notes on the Python stuff I modified.
    • Areas.py - Everything. Much of the work had already been started by Bautos42 when he uploaded the original Python code to the forums, I just updated it.
    • Barbs.py - Update city coordinates, add more indie cities
    • CityNameManager.py - Added a new city name map for the new map. It's still unfinished—there are still unfinished areas, but I've filled in most of the regions to some extent. Also added new city name definitions.
    • Civilizations.py - Aside from adding starting techs to civilizations I made alive in the scenarios, I heavily modified those of many of the existing ones.
    • Consts.py - Minor updates to city coords and # of minor cities, and updated Trading Company plot lists.
    • CvRFCEventHandler.py - Added code to help many later civs with the starting infrastructure of their capitals. I think this is important especially since a bunch of the cities start out as indies, and usually by the time they flip, the infrastructure is not adequate for the newborn civs.
    • RFCUtils.py - France and Spain now get 2 Trading Company cities (I added a indie Cebu spawning in the Middle Ages, so it should be included during the Spanish TC event.
    • RiseAndFall.py
      • Removed foundCapitals(), updateGreatWall(), flipStartingTerritory(), prepareChina(). I preplaced all capitals in the 600 AD scenario already, so no need for this. I made China such that Guangzhou's territory is detached from the main chunk of territory, so the Great Wall shouldn't cover it.
      • Updated adjust1700ADCulture() to reflect the new map.
      • With the latest state of develop already merged into this, the 1700 AD scenario can now accurately depict pre-British India (mostly Mughal, with a small Maratha and a small Tamil kingdom). I updated init1700ADDiplomacy() accordingly, as well as allowed the late TC events to trigger in the 1700 AD scenario.
      • I placed a still-alive Sassanid Persia in the 600 AD scenario, but I made it unplayable, and I hardcoded it to collapse in 651 AD. (Pretty pointless, I know, but... yeah.)
      • The 600 AD scenario also has Korea with its capital not in Hanseong—it's in Seorabeol (now Gyeongju). I coded a capital change on 918 AD there.
      • Ayutthaya and Angkor can now coexist in the bigger map, so making the Thai spawn conditional; hence, I removed the corresponding code.
      • Made the flip capital on spawn apply to all civs (not counting rebirths) instead of Italy only.
    • Victory.py - I think this is not finished yet. I haven't played all civs yet, so I don't know which civs still don't have updated code to check for UHV goals, especially for those with territorial ones.
    • SettlerMaps.py & WarMaps.py - I remade pretty much all the settler and war maps, loosely copying the original one.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
  5. h0spitall3rz

    h0spitall3rz Grand Vizier of Your Mind

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, PHL
    Not sure with the 1700 AD scenario, haven't tried autoplay with that yet. But I'm sure the 600 AD scenario works fine. :)

    PS: I'm not sure about the balancing on Normal speed, but since the map is already 42% bigger, I test most stuff at Epic speed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
  6. TJDowling

    TJDowling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Do I need to download this separately or can I access it from the main git?
     
  7. h0spitall3rz

    h0spitall3rz Grand Vizier of Your Mind

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, PHL
    This is my fork of Leo's original repo. You can add a reference to it in the TortoiseGit settings, do a fetch, and checkout the branch. Alternatively, you can clone this again.
     
  8. TJDowling

    TJDowling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    No matter how many times I do it I completely forget how to use git every time.
     
    The 13th Earl likes this.
  9. Crimean Lord

    Crimean Lord Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Russia The Mother
    AWESOME:)
    It saves all original trends but also produce new feeling - that redone world is much bigger!
    and I don't think that map suggestions incude brilliant Finbros's Russia will spoil new map:)
     
    1SDAN and h0spitall3rz like this.
  10. h0spitall3rz

    h0spitall3rz Grand Vizier of Your Mind

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, PHL
    I want to include as many of the suggestions in the map thread too! But then again, no idea on which of Finbros's suggestions would become official (as well as those of the others; there are a lot!), so I'm not sure what and what not to include :(
     
    1SDAN and Crimean Lord like this.
  11. TJDowling

    TJDowling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Plus Australia, South America and even most of North America has barely been considered. Not to mention many other subcontinents/regions
     
    Crimean Lord likes this.
  12. TJDowling

    TJDowling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    How do you add a reference in the settings?
     
  13. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,778
    Right click the folder, hover over TortoiseGit, click on Settings, click on remote, enter a new remote.
     
    h0spitall3rz likes this.
  14. TJDowling

    TJDowling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Okay thanks, good start. Now what do I write for the Remote? Do I need to fill in URL, Push URL, Putty Key and Tags?
     
  15. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,778
    You only need the URL
     
  16. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Some feedback:
    Starting the Vikings with cities in the 600 AD scenario takes away the player's ability to place their own cities. I personally prefer having that freedom, because I sometimes do move things around, or try different configurations.

    Edit: Gotland is excluded from the viking stability maps.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018 at 5:15 PM

Share This Page