1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Blood Mod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by seZereth, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. seZereth

    seZereth FfH´s art monk(ey)

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,900
    Location:
    Bayreuth
  2. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
    Have yet to test it in-game (applied it to our mod), but one question arises - are you planning to release this for Warlords-units (Chinese archer and Celtic chariot anims are especially popular Warlords anims), or at least make a tutorial of how to add blood splashes to animations?
     
  3. NikNaks

    NikNaks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Sounds awesome! Any screens?
     
  4. The_Coyote

    The_Coyote Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Europe
  5. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
    @The_Coyote

    Thanks, I guess I will try and edit the rest of the anims myself.

    @seZereth

    After seeing the effect in-game, I believe that it's too fast-paced; it just flashes by - I think real blood splash would be a little more persistant. Slowing the effect by 25 to 50% would probably do the trick, and make it look more natural (and I know how it can probably be easily accomplished by editing <fUpdateRate>1.0</fUpdateRate>, just wanted to share my thoughts with everyone).
     
  6. smeagolheart

    smeagolheart Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    2nded, Any screens?
     
  7. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
    Here's what I got with my settings; bear in mind that they're not what was initially specified by seZereth. I slowed the splash anim down to 0.2 of original, and I also made it twice smaller (so original size might have looked more spectacular).




     
  8. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    30,809
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Nice :goodjob:.
    I've seen the FfH2-thread, but i thought, this would be unit-specific.
    But so: great :).
     
  9. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    @ Walter Hawkwood; what mod are those screens from? That looks cool.
     
  10. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
    From our mod, Total Realism. But neither the terrain, nor the units themselves haven't been released, as they're from the upcoming version. But if it's the terrain you like, it's a mix of FfH2 terrain and Chuggi's Improved graphics with some color and brightness adjustment on my side, nothing really new. As for the units, if we take longer than expected to release, I might as well release some units/buildings separately.
     
  11. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Sorry for changing the thread topic, but for what civs are those units?
     
  12. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
    Answering with a PM, to prevent any further derailing.

    Guys and gals, the blood mod really is worth it. Try it! It's easy to install, and offers almost instant gratification.
     
  13. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
  14. seZereth

    seZereth FfH´s art monk(ey)

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,900
    Location:
    Bayreuth
  15. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Excellent work, guys!
    Even thou I'm judging only from screens, but I think this will give us some bloody good time! ;)
     
  16. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,295
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK i tried this out and looks great and all, but when you go from the game to Main Menu it CRASHES??? Around turn 113.

    I tried a game before blood spatter (no crash) etc, then same game with blood spatter (it crashes)??
     
  17. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
    Blood splatter shouldn't affect that at all. It is just an effect added to unit animations. It can't be affecting anything like that.
     
  18. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Has this been adapted to BtS yet?
     
  19. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    London, UK
    You can use it with BtS, but many units added by BtS won't have blood effects. Other than that, it'll work fine.
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,295
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Then why did mine crash, i got the same mod, i left that normal, at turn 113, then i fought and then immediately went to Main Menu and it was fine.

    Then i placed the blood splatter in the units and Misc(effects) etc, in the same mod and same turn, the fight was fine, but when i went to Main Menu it crashed to desktop, each and every time and other mods i put blood splatter in, when i go to Main Menu?? But as soon as i take out the blood splatter, everything was normal again??
     

Share This Page