1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Blue Marble V4.0 Gold

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by ColdFever, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    You are correct, v4 uses a very different style. And a new style is not automatically better for everybody. I am glad you still enjoy v3. Hint: If you install v4 and then v3 (without uninstalling v4 before) you will have v3 plus the nice new sea floor of Civ4Col (kudos to Firaxis).
     
  2. Mister Giggles

    Mister Giggles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    I took your advice and did just that thing. Boy, the ocean sure looks better now. Best of both worlds! Regardless, thanks for coming up with Blue Marble in the first place. Fantastic job you did, in all versions. I used it since the first day it was posted up here, and I cannot, absolutely cannot play a game without Blue Marble being installed.

    Funny thing is, my desktop background is the original Blue Marble composite picture you based the Civ graphics upon. My question is, where did you get the picture of the blue marble (The actual marble with earth on it)? I use it as a display picture everywhere, and I would LOVE to own an actual blue marble.

    By the way, mind if I borrow your avatar picture? :)
     
  3. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    Nice work, but it seams a littlen bit too dark ?

    And it always miss a texture like "savanna" or dry plain, between Plain & Desert.
    That will be really more realistic !

    Snow-> Tundra-> Grassland-> Plain-> Savanna-> Desert.

    white - brown - deep green - light green - light brown - sand yellow.

    Savanna trees or bush will be extra (!).

    With python adding savanna to the right place between Savanna and Desert.

    No more plains an then Desert.
     
  4. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    Norh east China, central Asia, Middle east, Africa and Central america need savanna plains to be really realistic.

    The Savanna Terrain, features, resources .XML could be balanced too.



    For My Civ 4 I'v add a terrain feature in the XML Art => Civ4Artdefines_Terrain.XML,

    terrain grass= GrassBlend.dds

    terrain plain= PlainsBlend.dds

    * terrain savanna= Light/PlainsBlend.dds *

    terrain desert= DesertBlend.dds

    That very simple modifications add very realistic graphics to a heart map.

    (need to add change XML, folder terrain ( terrain.XML and add savanna)
     
  5. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    I derived the Civ4BlueMarble logo from the NASA BlueMarble project of 2001.
    Some free Marbles you may use that I created recently for another project:



    You are right. But sorry, BlueMarble just wants to be a graphics mod, it does not want to alter anything regarding the gameplay - what would be the case with adding a new terrain type. So what I was trying with v4 "Gold" was giving the "Plains" a more Savanna-like (golden) look.
     
  6. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    Perhaps in future evolution of BluMarble.

    It could be very :drool: if you coul make a kind of BluMarble Mod (!), with moduls including new terrain graphic, new feature graphic, new animal, and ...

    I'm looking for ,a very long time, when a "goodguy" will add some new relief graphics, like plato, small hills, depression (land below sea level), sandy coast, rocky coast etc...

    Don't you think it could be the next stepp for BluMarble.
    :drool:
     
  7. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    Sorry Kissa, as I said, BlueMarble will remain a pure graphics mod and in its current state is finished (I am on other projects now). But there are other mods like "Improved Graphics" (see this forum) that could be exactly what you are looking for, combining new graphics with new game elements
     
  8. zarakand

    zarakand Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Chicago
    I prefer the darker way myself. Not sure if I'm in the minority here. Great job by the way. This and the BUG mod are by far my favorite mods.
     
  9. Phoenician

    Phoenician Tiberium Warrior

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I prefer the v. 3. This looks too dark for my tastes. I have version 3 with the regular leader heads and screens--I don't like Darius with a mustache... And the blue sky background was distracting.

    I like how the land looks in detail but overall I prefer the lightness of the older version, especially the water.
     
  10. Matey

    Matey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    how do i uninstall BM4?
     
  11. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    With the same programm you did install it.
    Instead of the button "Install" then use the button "Uninstall".
     
  12. Matey

    Matey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    got it, thank you.
     
  13. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    With BTS ver 3.17, I have the Blue Marble ver 4.20 installed and running the Smartmap ver 9.1. While running "multiplayer" the game crashes, but not in single player. Smartmap does not seem to be the problem, as the game loads fine with multiplayer running Smartmap alone. Once I install any or all of the Blue Marble options, low or Hi Res, the game blows up. Again, Single Player works fine. How do I fix this multiplayer problem with the Blue Marble Mod? :sad:

    Orion Veteran :cool:
     
  14. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    BlueMarble is compatible with Multiplayer. But perhaps your mod is not fully compatible with the CustomAssets mechanism Firaxis provided for custom assets? However, I tried SmartMap with BlueMarble myself and see no chrashes, neither in Single nor Multiplayer. Perhaps you have another mod installed that is problematic? Sorry, but BlueMarble only replaces some graphics - apart from that it changes nothing of the game code. So I cannot do anything if a certain game code might crash with custom graphics.
     
  15. Huayna Capac357

    Huayna Capac357 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,194
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Yes! That's the Earth I remember :)

    And Suryavarman isn't yellow! Thank you SOO much!
     
  16. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    After a complete clean installation of CIV4, Warlords, BTS, Blue Marble (BM) and Smartmap; everything worked as it should have in multiplayer. I initially thought it must have been my CustomAssets. But no! After uninstalling and re-installing BM, the problem returned. :crazyeye:

    If I uninstall BM and create a new multiplayer game using Smartmap and any of my mods, then the save works and the map is good. I then reinstalled BM and it works with the saved file, but fails again when creating a new multiplayer game. There is no doubt about it: There is some some sort of conflict causing this bug. Even when running BTS pure, with no mod, the problem persists. I have nothing in CustomAssets. :(

    I don't want to have to uninstall BM every time I start a multiplayer game. Please help.

    Orion Veteran :cool:
     
  17. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    Sorry, as I said, I do not know what causes your MP crashes and I really cannot do anything. BM ist just a graphics mod and I only can change graphics. I have not the possibility and not the intention to change any programming code of the game that seems to cause problems on your side.

    I only could guess that your system somehow has troubles using CustomAssets. But such a problem only a Firaxis programmer could solve, not a humble graphicist like me. The only thing you could do is to copy the BlueMarble-CustomAssets folder over your original Assets in your installation directory. After this then you could delete the BM CustomAssets folder. This way your problem should go, but you could not uninstall BM anymore. To see where the CustomAssets folders are located that BlueMarble uses click on "List Affected Files" in the installer. Good luck!
     
  18. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    V4.50 has been posted.
    This version brings a new brightness selector in the installer, so that people who think the terrain is too dark (typically on older monitors) or too bright (typically on brand new monitors) can adjust their Blue Marble installation. This version also brings a new snow style and lots of small refinements. Thanks for your feedback!


    There is no need to uninstall an old BlueMarble version before installing this new one.
     
  19. JustATourist

    JustATourist Lost in Translation

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    Lower Saxony
    That's a great idea. :) Does v4.2 needs to be uninstalled first?
     
  20. ColdFever

    ColdFever blue

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
    No, all BM versions are designed so that you can simply install them over old ones.
     

Share This Page