1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Boot Camp, 32bit or 64bit?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by killthepoodle, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. killthepoodle

    killthepoodle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Should I install 32bit or 64bit windows 7? Any recommendations on which version (ultimate, home, etc)?
     
  2. Welnic

    Welnic Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    If you are installing it just to run games, I would go with 64bit Home Premium. Newegg has the OEM version for $85.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116754
    The Pro version has things you need to properly hook up to an office network and Remote Desktop, but you wouldn't need those. The OEM version has some limitations on its use, but at half the price it's the way to go. If you have 4GBs of RAM the 64bit lets you use all of it.
     
  3. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    If you have a Mac Pro go with Windows 7 Professional, otherwise go with Windows 7 Home Premium

    Reasoning is Windows 7 Home Premium supports 16GB RAM Max, all Mac Pros can support at least 32GB RAM
     
  4. rj86

    rj86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Manchestuh
    Isn't one of those limitations something about not installing on equipment bought at retail? :lol:

    Just sayin, if you're going to the lengths of purchasing Windows you should at least purchase a copy with the license that is required for your system... You might as well not pay at all if that's what you're doing :crazyeye:

    Original Equipment Manufacturer license at Wikipedia :)
     
  5. CivDude86

    CivDude86 King

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    OEM licenses are non transferable and tied to the hardware its installed on.
     
  6. th0r

    th0r Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Slovenia
    If you have more than 2 GB of RAM you should go with 64bit W7 Home Premium, otherwise 32bit is good enough.
     
  7. Welnic

    Welnic Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    If you want to pay twice as much, go ahead. Ars article about Microsoft OS OEM:

    http://arstechnica.com/hardware/news/2007/01/8730.ars
     
  8. rj86

    rj86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Manchestuh
    I stand corrected, thanks Welnic.
     
  9. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    It's tied to the motherboard, anything else is fair game to change
     

Share This Page