1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Brave New World Hotfix Patch Available

Discussion in 'News Updates' started by Methos, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    A hotfix patch (1.0.3.70) is now available on Steam for Brave New World. Unfortunately, this fix is not available for the Mac version.

    [CRASH]
    • Fixed a crash that could occur when users try to replace a farm with another improvement (like a Holy Place, Manufactory, etc.).
    • Fixed a crash with the World Wrap when moving naval units across it (primarily on Windows 8, the FX draw could cause a crash due to memory constraints).
    • Fixed a crash when attempting to unlock the Raiders of the Lost Ark achievement. This affected only human Washington players who were completing an Archaeological Dig in neutral territory.
    • Fixed a crash that could occur during the AI turn if a city that had connected trade routes was razed.
    • Fixed some additional random crashes found via Steam Reporting.

    [AI]
    • The number of Archaeologists built by the AI is now more reasonable.
    • Correct error in flavor changes for ranged unit construction strategies.
    • Espionage AI: Correct an issue that was causing the AI to assign diplomats improperly when there were no valid targets.
    • Tactical AI - Pillaging: Update tactical AI to include targeting Citadels and non-resource tiles for pillaging, to prioritize closer targets over farther targets, and to prefer to use damaged units (so they get the healing benefit).

    [BALANCE]
    • Allow Wats to be purchased with Faith by Siam (instead of Universities).

    [UI]
    • When pressing escape, the tech tree now uses the same close logic as hitting F6 or the close button. This was previously causing the pop-up system to fail in-game. After the error occurred, no more pop-ups would be shown until it is cleared by reloading, or by hitting "F6" multiple times. This would be most noticeable when capturing an enemy city and the player would not be able to choose to annex, puppet, or raze, as it would just annex it automatically.
    • Audio sliders now move in increments in 1 (was 10) and display as a percentage. Fixed how the Slider control moves based on keyboard and scrollwheel input so that it correctly uses the WheelSteps property.
    • The Declare War UI now displays whether the players have created a declaration of friendship or denounced each other. There's also now a turn counter specifying how long the Declaration of Friendship or Denouncement has left.

    [GAMEPLAY]
    • Fixed a bug causing all "Victory" achievements to stop functioning for the base game and Gods and Kings.
    • Fix the "Dr Livingstone" achievement.
    • Fix the "Pickett's Recharge" achievement.
    • Fix a bug that was causing Barbarians to not properly target civilian units.
    • Fix "Greed is Good" achievement. No longer unlocks when the AI fulfills the requirements.
    • Fix the Venetian Great Galleass so that it can no longer both Melee and Range attack.
    • Fix cases where Cite-State units weren't being marked properly as dangerous or friendly. These could cause workers to wake up (or ignore danger) incorrectly.

    [MODDING]
    • DLL connecters now link properly. Custom built DLL mods would previously not load properly (since last update).
    • Fix "flibby" antiquity sites bug that can occur when using a World Builder map that has pre-defined antiquity sites.

    [EXPLOIT]
    • Venice can no longer annex cities through the Strategic View.
    • Venice can no longer annex cities that were previously their puppet, captured by another player, then recaptured as Venice.



    [MULTIPLAYER]
    • Fix an issue that can occur when you start an MP game with AI players, and that AI meets a City-State, and if a human then joins the game and takes over that AI slot, the game prevents the human from moving into the City-State territory without declaring war.
    • Allow the game to read-in custom maps from any maps directory, not just the main game maps directory.
    • Unlocked the rest of the map-scripts for multiplayer play (there were some that were previously not hooked in from earlier releases) – ContinentsPlus, Donut, PangaeaPlus, Sandstorm, Highlands, Lakes, Terra.

    Thanks to anandus for letting us know.
     
  2. Nickbonista

    Nickbonista Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Gateshead, UK
    At least this means the AI's idiotic archaeologist spam will stop. Also does this mean that the Reseed mod will be able to read all the maps?
     
  3. spincrus

    spincrus sol invictus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    Europe
  4. BrotherInJah

    BrotherInJah 60% of the time works every time

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Location:
    Location, location, location..
    That's nice..;)
     
  5. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    :lol: Thanks for pointing it out. At least I got the title right. It's fixed now.
     
  6. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,672
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    Denouncement counter seems bugged: shows 49 turns left for every denouncement, and does not move beyond that. Can anyone confirm? (Global Politics tab)

    Function called from lua seems bugged, I tried to use the same function for the InfoAddict light mod, and the result is the same (in fact, that's how I noticed, I was searching like crazy for "my" mistake, assuming that the function was working, until I checked inside Global Politics and saw the reported behaviour).
     
  7. locdog_i

    locdog_i Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I have only G&K and I still got a patch yesterday. So, I think this might not be just for BNW.

    Either way, the fix broke my LAN save games. Yeah, from now on I will go online with steam only when I want my games to be patched. Basically, before the patch, the player name during LAN was the same as the steam profile name, now it switched to the windows user. This means that the names mismatch with the ones in the save games. Furthermore, even the game name changed to the name of the host (= windows user).

    I tried everything to fix this. Both me and my brother changed the aliases in the config ini, relocated my documents, created new windows accounts with our steam profile names. Nothing works. With the new windows users we managed to get the game to think we are the same users as in the save, however the game still freezes during loading.

    Any thoughts?
     
  8. kattana

    kattana Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    aahhh.. is that why now I have a number code up by the turn counter.. and just what is that for?
     
  9. Drwyddon

    Drwyddon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I encountered the same problem with LAN saved games last night. The problem also occurs with newly saved games, so it's not just with pre-patch saves. When loading a saved LAN game, the host was properly assigned to the civ that they were formerly playing, but players joining the game were assigned to civs that were formerly AI in the save game, and the Human slots were not being filled.

    I did find a work-around. Have the host kick all human players except for himself and start the saved game with all AI. Then have each human player join the game in the same order that their CIV is listed in the saved game and this allows the human player to take over the AI (of the civ they were formerly playing as Human). This worked for us. YMMV
     
  10. Meceka

    Meceka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    If the above method doesn't work, there are some another workarounds which have worked for me. It's explained in the guide below, check method 2 and 3.
    http://www.civilization-tr.com/en/civilization-name-alias-bug-fix/

    By the way, as i understand, it changes the nickname to computer name, "only" on old games (old games meaning: games before the patch). And It changes between computer name, and steam name randomly.
     
  11. Thorburne

    Thorburne Centurion

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,449
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Carney, MD
    I still don't see anything about the barbarian issue on pre-made maps/scenarios.
     
  12. GaelicWarrior

    GaelicWarrior Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Guys, wait for mine and Earthstrike's mod coming this fall. Its going to far outweigh anything Firaxis can do in order to balanced the game for multiplayer.

    Also, still no osx patch after 9 days. What a disgrace Firaxis and Aspyr are.
     

Share This Page