1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BTS Module] Nazi Germany

Discussion in 'Civ4 - New Civilizations' started by DWOLF, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. GOBLES

    GOBLES Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    The Bronx, NY
    new Hitler by NikNaks!
     
  2. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    And here's a link ;) If I were you, I'd keep the texture you have for the hat.
     
  3. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    Please offer a No-Hat version... Hitler hated wearing hats inside!
     
  4. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    So? It's a game! Lighten up!
     
  5. DWOLF

    DWOLF Death Before Dishonor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    City Of Trees
    wow thanks NikNaks, I will add him sometime today...
     
  6. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    :D I really need to improve the skin, now.
     
  7. DWOLF

    DWOLF Death Before Dishonor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    City Of Trees
    yeah I said I was going to upload the new Hitler today but we're having some technical difficulties with him so expect the new Hitler late today or tomorrow...
     
  8. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    Make sure he's angry... ensure cuffs/sleeves are looking right... etc, etc...
     
  9. cider

    cider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Germany
    Can someone tell me or give me a hint on how to substitute regular Germany from the Rhye's and Fall mod with Gray Germany here ? I bet it's a big thing and I have no idea how to do it without help, but it would be so awesome :)
    Mostly I would like to have all the UU's for Germany, if that's easier to do.
     
  10. DWOLF

    DWOLF Death Before Dishonor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    City Of Trees
    hey cider, I'm not too familiar with Rhye's and Fall mod (unless you mean the mod already in BTS?)

    but to begin, you would have to look at

    Civ4ArtDefines_Units
    Civ4ArtDefines_Civilization
    Civ4ArtDefines_Leaders

    CIV4UnitArtStyleTypeInfos
    CIV4LeaderHeadInfos
    CIV4CivilizationInfos
    CIV4DiplomacyInfos

    CIV4ColorVals
    CIV4PlayerColorInfos
    CIV4EffectInfos (for the german flame thrower)

    CIV4UnitClassInfos
    CIV4UnitInfos

    CIV4GameText

    those are the files that make up my mod, depending on what RAF's mod does,
    those are the only files you need to look at on my end...
     
  11. cider

    cider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks for your reply. Yes, I mean the Rhye's and Fall mod that's already included in BtS.

    I just browsed the forums and read on how to add a new unit into Civ4. I'm a total greenhorn when it comes to modding Civ4 as you can see. More difficult than I thought !
    I just tried to add the Waffen SS as another UU for Germany for testing purposes. I copied the Navy Seal XML codes and altered them, but no success yet. And oddly, some Spearmen became Tanks when I started a new game :lol:
    Guess I have to rollback the folders and try again...
     
  12. DWOLF

    DWOLF Death Before Dishonor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    City Of Trees
    yes, it can be a bit complicated at first...but once you get basic concepts of adding units / buildings, it's cake! :)

    When adding new units you have to be very careful and make sure you use the corresponding animations or else your newly added units won't display property.

    About spearmen becoming tanks...wow that must have been an amazing transformation :lol: j/k. When you add a new unit that's going to be the same class as an unit already in game, you have check the class info.

    For example if I were to add the Tiger Tank

    Spoiler :
    <UnitClassInfo>
    <Type>UNITCLASS_KING_TIGER</Type>
    <Description>TXT_KEY_UNIT_KING_TIGER</Description>
    <iMaxGlobalInstances>-1</iMaxGlobalInstances>
    <iMaxTeamInstances>-1</iMaxTeamInstances>
    <iMaxPlayerInstances>-1</iMaxPlayerInstances>
    <iInstanceCostModifier>0</iInstanceCostModifier>
    <DefaultUnit>UNIT_TANK</DefaultUnit>
    </UnitClassInfo>


    the default unit is UNIT_TANK, if I were to put spearman, the Tiger tank would appear as a spearman instead of a tank...hope that helps a bit. Let me know if you have any other problems.
     
  13. cider

    cider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Germany
    Ok, I finally managed to add the Waffen SS as a second UU for Germany. It replaces the usual Marine (just like Navy Seals for America).
    I started a new Rhye's and Fall (RFC) game and went to the World Builder, found and placed some Waffen SS on the map.
    Everything looks and works fine, except that some cities have Mechanized Infantry inside at the beginning (a Viking City and Bejing for example) and some Modern Artillery is floating in the water (near London and Scandinavia)?!
    It is exactly the same problem that I posted before when I laughed about "Spearmen turning into Tanks", but now I am sure I only edited what was necessary to implement the Waffen SS. I didn't even touch Mechanized Infantry or Artillery in the XML !
    And when I start a new game several times, the Mech. Infantry and Artilley are always on the same cities and tiles. I don't know why RFC does that.
    If it helps, I can post what I added into the XML files.

    Edit:
    I think I know what might be the problem, but hard to explain. I'll try.
    I was in the World Builder and noticed that next to the Mech. Inf. Icon there is the Archer Icon, and all Archers became Mech. Inf. in my game.
    The Modern Artillery Icon is next to the Worker Boat Icon, so I guess all my Worker Boats became Modern Artillery, and all Triremes became Worker Boats, because thats the next Icon in the order.
    The new Waffen SS Icon simply changed the unit order somehow ?!
    But all the other Units I see at the start seem to be ok.

    I made 2 Screenshots to show you what it's like:
    Spoiler :




     
  14. DWOLF

    DWOLF Death Before Dishonor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    City Of Trees
    hmmm...if they transform to a different unit...example trireme becomes workboat?

    I'm guessing it has something to do with the unitinfos...the unit upgrade section. Go ahead and post the files so I can take a look at them.
     
  15. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    But Waffen SS never wore black trenchcoats into combat...
     
  16. cider

    cider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Germany
    We know, but it just looks cool ;-)

    @DWolf

    I solved it ! At first, I put the Waffen SS right after the Navy Seal in the CIV4UnitInfos.xml and that disturbed the "unit order" as I assumed.
    I put the Waffen SS now at the very end of the CIV4UnitInfos.xml and the Mech. Inf and Artillery are gone respectively they are Archers and Working Boats again ;)
     
  17. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    Adding units or rearranging the order will only effect saved games. You can have your unit order any way you like when starting a new game.

    Try adding a new LH in the middle of the LH files, then reload a saved game... you'll get some crazy results! :mischief:
     
  18. cider

    cider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Germany
    Sounds logic now, thinking that RFC is a scenario. So the others got Mech. Inf. as a starting unit except of Archers. Not a bad start :goodjob:
     
  19. DWOLF

    DWOLF Death Before Dishonor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    City Of Trees
    Congratulations cider!

    I knew you could do it :goodjob:

    now, @ Wolfshanze...for the sake of an argument...I'm gonna say you're wrong and they did use trench coats :lol: :lol:

    (I know they didn't)
     
  20. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    I use Bernie's Waffen SS in the camo unis. Chuggi's SS look more like Chancellor building guards then Waffen SS combat troops. My 2-cents... black looks sharp, but it gets you shot in about three seconds on a WWII battlefield. ;)

    Speaking of matters... I never liked the "Assembly Plant" for Germany as the UB (almost totally worthless)... in my Wolfshanze Mod I switched it out with the "Krupp Steel Works", which gives bonus experience to Artillery and Armored units instead of allowing more specialists.
     

Share This Page