1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BtS] NextWar: Revolutions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by jkp1187, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    NOTE: This mod was built using patch v.3.13. As a result, it will crash if the new v.3.17 patch is installed. I will update this as soon as I can, but things are very busy in real life for me at the moment. (If all goes well, when the update is done, it will also incorporate the most recent changes that jdog5000 put in his core "Revolution" mod.) Thanks for your patience! --jkp1187


    NextWar: Revolutions

    DOWNLOAD v. 1.39 here:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=8535


    Summary:

    This is a merge between jdog5000's Revolution mod and jkp1187's Not Just Another NextWar Mod.

    Not Just Another NextWar Mod
    is intended to be a corrective for the Next War epic mod provided with Beyond the Sword. It attempts to correct some deficiencies in game play (the Space Race is now a viable victory condition,) add a few features to enhance game play (resource depletion is now an option; new voice-overs are provided for the NextWar techs, new Random Events have been added,) without significantly altering the game. No new units have been added, and only one new technology (Astrogation, as part of the reworked Space Race.) The Next War scenario is not included. This mod was created by jkp1187.

    Revolution
    adds a new series of rules to the game that permits new empires to rise and existing empires to break-up due to internal factors. Barbarian tribes may settle down and form new full-fledged civilizations, overseas colonies may attempt to secede from an oppressive motherland, and discontented citizens of cities at home may revolt. Revolution was created by jdog5000, and is included in this mod with his permission. (This does not yet include the new features jdog added in Revolution 1.35. A merge with that mod is coming soon.)

    For the convenience of the players, the readme files for both mods are included in the Civilopedia under "Beyond the Sword Concepts". Please refer to these entries for more details.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Reserved for future use, if necessary.
     
  3. LeEmmerdeur

    LeEmmerdeur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    hey JKP, this may be dumb question being as I'm fairly sure the answer is yes but:
    does this mod use the latest versions of both sub-mods? ie the partisan fix?
    I'm gonna DL it now and play anyway cuz Im sure it rocks.

    I shudder at the thought of you developing some sort of hobby outside of BTS cuz then we wouldn't keep getting all these great mods for free!
    Thanks again and let me repeat that I hope you win the lotto or something,
    LeEmmerdeur

    Edit: thanks by the way for getting a new host, they are much better
     
  4. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,077
    Location:
    In orbit
    jkp1187: :cooool: and a big THX to jdog5000 too!:goodjob:
     
  5. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Yes it does.

    And you don't have to worry about me getting another hobby -- you need to worry about me getting a more interesting job! Or worry about me and Mrs. JKP1187 buying a new house.... :)
     
  6. Roamty

    Roamty BTS

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    South Park
    Got this phyton exception
     
  7. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    An easy one. I will post an update when I get a free moment. If you feel like doing some editing, Line 4053 is supposed to read:

    Code:
    	if not gc.getTeam(otherPlayer.getTeam()).canChangeWarPeace([B]pPlayer.[/B]getTeam()):
    		return False
    
    "player" is a typo, it should be "pPlayer".
     
  8. Sinapus

    Sinapus Defenestrated

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Question: Is this the standard 18-civ dll or the 40-civ one?
     
  9. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Revolutions removes the 18 civ ceiling, so there is no "18" civ DLL for this. I believe that it's adjustable in the ini, but it defaults to a much higher number regardless -- check the Revolution discussion thread and/or readme files for details.
     
  10. Sinapus

    Sinapus Defenestrated

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ah, okay. How does this work with pre-made maps (as in WorldBuilderSaves) from the core game, like the Earth map? When I started using the VISA mod, I had to modify the custom maps I had to match the settings the VISA mod used, else the game would crash as soon as I loaded the WorldBuilderSave containing the map.
     
  11. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  12. Sinapus

    Sinapus Defenestrated

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Okay, it looks similar to what I had to do to make maps work with ViSa.

    Admittedly, I'm being a bit lazy since all I have to do is load the mod, create a game, save the map and then quit and go look at how the wbs is setup, but I usually don't have time to do that until the weekend and wanted to see what I could find out before I started experimenting. (I can used the saved time to play, after all.) ;)
     
  13. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    I haven't played anywhere near as much as I did before I started modding....and the times I *DO* play, I'm also play-testing, so I do things that I wouldn't necessarily have tried otherwise...or I'll play at a lower level than I could otherwise do, so that I can be sure of getting to the end game without hassles.
     
  14. Scrooge

    Scrooge Baa Humbug

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    London
    If this mod could be combined with [ranged bombardment or Dale's] and [3 radius cities] it would be the stuff of my dreams...
     
  15. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    DCM is definitely on the list. Last I checked, there were still a few bugs to be worked out of DCM, so I'm sort of waiting for a clean version before investing the time to do it. (There's also a slew of XML changes that will need to be made with DCM, new values that need to be assigned to various units, so it's not a simple plug-and-play mod.)

    I don't know about that other mod. What does it do?
     
  16. Scrooge

    Scrooge Baa Humbug

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    London
    The 3-squre radius cities is a mod that frees you from the 2-square radius cities, :), may also be called "Large City" mod, I found it somewhere here and think it's ok.

    I'm pants with python but quite comfortable with xml so I'm searching for a sort of "python code base" to further xml edit the mod to my taste.

    JKP - I truly love your futuristic mod, have been playing nothing but it since I got BtS on pre-order. Adding Revolutions seems very exciting and I'm looking forward to testing it asap. However the ranged bombardment (and some other comps from Dale's) add a significant strategy layer to the game. The 3-square city radius may allow me to use the benefits of some far-away resources inside the city screen. The remaining tweaks for units, civics, specialists, terrain and resources I can do in xml once I have the python mechanics.

    BTW - I just found V.D.R.N mod, which says it's combining most of what I'd want. I'm downloading it right now, however it does seem a bit... opulent? Not that I'd complain, ever...
    Oh, and there's Quot Capita Mod - similar but without Revolutions - sob...

    My other dream is to have espionage mechanics slightly reworked, but that may be a bit too much to ask at present.
     
  17. Ayetach

    Ayetach Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Would it be possible to integrate the scenario that was first provided with the 'Next War' mod into this one for playability? I think it would definitely add a level of interest to the game. I don't mind if random civs pop up everywhere (regardless of their historical background) but the idea of revolution or civil war makes the scenario all the more interesting.

    (P.S. Besides, I would prefer some of the functions like losing resources and chemical weapons reducing cities to be included.)
     
  18. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    That's a good question. I don't know for sure. I'm not an expert on scenario mods, but Revolution incorporates a lot of SDK changes, and some of those may not be compatible with the world builder file that the scenario starts with.
     
  19. Ayetach

    Ayetach Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Hmm... perhaps internal changes to the document itself may help. I normally hard code anything directly by opening up the scenario file through notepad or Dreamweaver.
     
  20. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Oh, and incidentally, resource depletion is included in this mod (though you must select it from the Custom Game screen.) Biological Warfare Missiles did not work correctly in the original mod (by removing a population point in cities), so they don't do that here, either.
     

Share This Page