1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BtS] Rise of Mankind 2

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by zappara, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    The quoted text is from Glider's Readme for RevolutionDCM. I keep all readme files from the components I merge. The instructions for installation are present on the download page, and the discussion thread. I recently highlighted the statement for removing the old Python folder so it is more obvious for future. I am sorry if the instructions are not straight forward. Most people who played several mods no longer read installation instructions as they are almost always the same.

    Thanks a lot for playing the Add-On I hope you are enjoying RoM2 + RevolutionDCM.
     
  2. SIMPA

    SIMPA Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Zagreb,CROATIA
    hi zapp!!!
    I notice that you used THORN flag mod for BTS in your mod so I would ask you if it is not a problem to you to borrow me that mod???
    I was traying to download but THORN links doesant work anymore and I cant find that nowhere!!
    PlEaSe!!!!
     
  3. CrazyAce

    CrazyAce Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    I'm here, soon to be there.
    I dono about this RevolutionDCM for Rise of Mankind 2.0, I mean it is way out of control, its like each time I build up and get revolted most of the structures that I built are gone and have to re build them.

    I think this add on requires a lot of make over to be representable with this mod. What I would like to see is a little more control over the rebellions, such as fewer revolts.
     
  4. Soduka

    Soduka Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    I do fine with it. You must think of the people in a real sense. If you stay in an unfavorable/losing war for a long while, the people will get fed up. If your government suppresses their rights, they will rebel. You must fight short, successful wars, have a balanced government, and a good economy. If your economy is down (Your research slider is down in 30% and lower) they will complain of high taxes and revolt.


    I find it fun and it's always rewarding to watch a competitor fall to pieces into several small nations, kind of like the Soviet Union in our world. (Hint: Espionage the hell out of them. Start unhappiness, steal their money, and pretty soon they will crumble)
     
  5. CrazyAce

    CrazyAce Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    I'm here, soon to be there.
    :splat: You know I did start the game with every one at war until they discover writing... I bet that has a lot to do with it.

    You don't say... I'm gonna have some fun with this.

    Thanx for the advice.
     
  6. Axil

    Axil Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    from the land of the Ddraig coch
    Just had a look at the changes for the patch

    Not sure I agree with the observatory needing hills - They don't especially if they are pre 20th century. Galileo did his work from Padua which is on low level land, Copernicus also graduated there but did his work in Poland again fairly flat though actually he was more a mathematician than practical observer.

    Even in the 18th century Uranus was discovered by William Herschel at his Observatory in Bath UK - again not an area reknown for it's height


    The reason most optical observatories are high these days is more to due with the problems of modern day pollution more - then fine particulates in the air introduced mostly by the industrial revolution and onwards scatter light and there to get a more defined focus the observatory has to be built above the haze layer.
     
  7. little_cyclone

    little_cyclone Loyal Civ4 & C2C mod player

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Deep South
    Maybe this should be split into two buildings then? A general "Early Observatory" that can be built anywhere and provide some basic scientific benefits and possibly make it obsolete in the modern age, and then an "Advanced/Modern Observatory" that can only be built with the hill/peak requirements and provide more significant scientific benefits then its predecessor, and have no obsolesence.
     
  8. Propunk

    Propunk Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Brazil
    Weird graphics problem

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Zappara:
    I've been constantly having problems with the graphics. It always happens when a next turn starts. The images seem to shuffle and the game either chashes to desktop or becomes impossible to go on. My pc is not that shabby: 2.66 mhz, 1.5 giga ram, 256 meg video card.
     
  9. werttrew

    werttrew Professor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    I realize this mod wasn't really designed for one-city challenges, but I was annoyed to discover the limits on national wonders per city still held even in the OCC.
     
  10. RobO

    RobO King

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Slangerup, Denmark
    That stuff is set in the file
    ...\Beyond the Sword\Mods\<Mod name>\Assets\XML\GlobalDefines.xml
    Just use a standard text editor (notepad) and search for Wonder or OCC

    I was under the impression that the limit for wonders didn't apply to OCC games, but I'm no expert. If you set the limit for normal games to 100 and play an OCC game you should be OK.
     
  11. söör

    söör Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Hi!

    Multiplayer we rehearsed it in a manner , we used all accessories, and a synchronisation mistake arose .what it is possible to make?
     
  12. Loke.be

    Loke.be Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    MP works fine so far here (LAN; 2 players; Rev included)
     
  13. molnibalage

    molnibalage Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Guys, there is a problem. At a certain point in my game I get CTD everytime in the same turn. I can send the save game if you want examine the problem. In this turn I don't invent anything, happens ALL TIME when I press enter for end turn.

    This was my first long game with RoM2. I have to start a new game. :(
     
  14. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Version 2.01 patch released:
    Spoiler :
    Religions
    ---------
    - Changed: Islam is founded with Education now
    - Changed: Jewish Global Religion Commerces (Temple of Solomon activates) changed from +2 gold +1 science to +1 gold (recommended by Commander Bello & little_cyclone)

    Buildings
    ---------
    - Changed: All Medieval building costs increased by 10%
    - Changed: All Renaissance building costs increased by 20%
    - Changed: All Industrial building costs increased by 30%
    - Changed: All Modern building costs increased by 40%
    - Changed: All Future building costs increased by 50%
    - Changed: Observatory can be built only in cities which have hills or peak inside city radius (most real life observatories are on hills/mountains)
    - Changed: Deep Space Research Institute is now National Wonder
    - changed: Laboratory requires University instead of Observatory because Observatory can't be built anymore to all cities
    - Changed: Accelerator no longer cause unhealthiness, space production bonus decreased from 50% to 20%, cost increased from 230 to 500
    - Added: Food Processing Plant graphics and icon
    - Added: Manufacturing plant graphics

    Wonders
    -------
    - Changed: All Medieval Wonder costs increased by 10%
    - Changed: All Renaissance Wonder costs increased by 20%
    - Changed: All Industrial Wonder costs increased by 30%
    - Changed: All Modern Wonder costs increased by 40%
    - Changed: All Future Wonder costs increased by 50%
    - Changed: Copernicus Observatory can be built only in cities which have hills or peak inside city radius
    - Changed: Einstein's laboratory no longer give +2 extra science from all specialists, instead the city where this wonder is built, gets 2 free scientist, obsolete at Superstring Theory
    - Changed: Radio Telescope requires University in city instead of Observatory (Radio Telescopes are built usually in valleys instead of hills/peaks)
    - Changed: Leonardo's Workshop obsolete at Thermodynamics
    - Changed: Edison's workshop obsolete at Magnetic Levitation
    - Changed: Isaac Newton's college obsolete at Quantum Physics
    - Changed: sphingx moved back to Masonry, cost decreased to 250 (half of Pyramid cost)
    - Changed: Temple of Solomon +15% gold bonus added
    - changed: Hanging Gardens moved to Dualism
    - Added: Alhambra Icon
    - Added: Pont du Gard icon


    National Wonders
    ----------------
    - Changed: All Medieval National Wonder costs increased by 10%
    - Changed: All Renaissance National Wonder costs increased by 20%
    - Changed: All Industrial National Wonder costs increased by 30%
    - Changed: All Modern National Wonder costs increased by 40%
    - Changed: All Future National Wonder costs increased by 50%
    - Changed: Moai Statues moved to Sculpture tech, requires also Seafaring
    - Changed: Oxford University science bonus decreased from 100% to 50%
    - Changed: Supercollider science bonus decreased from 100% to 50%
    - Changed: Radio Telescope science bonus decreased from 100% to 50%
    - Changed: Computer Center science bonus decreased from 200% to 100%


    Units
    -----
    - Changed: Cavalry units require now Cavalry Tactics instead of Flintlock (Cavalry can't be found before Cuirassier now)
    - Changed: All units that previously required Rocketry, require now Advanced Rocketry
    - Changed: African horse archer flavor unit swapped to Middle east version due to bug that city screen malfunction
    - Changed: Horseman cost decreased from 50 to 38
    - Changed: Bombard cost decreased from 100 to 90
    - Fixed: Middle East heavy swordsman was missing 2 texture files for low graphic settings
    - Fixed: Attack Submarine has now Oil Products as OR requirement
    - Fixed: Tank unitclass requires now Radio tech and Oil products
    - Fixed: Heavy Tank unitclass requires now Radio tech and Oil products
    - Fixed: Asian Longbowman icon
    - Added: Icons for Fusion Battleship, Fusion Destroyer, Fusion Cruiser, Fluyt, Fusion Transport, Fusion Carrier, Jeep, Submerged Town Platform, Bombard, Hi-Tech APC, Sacred Band, Plasma Armor, Hover Tank, F35, Landing Ship Tank, Ashigaru
    - Added: V1 Missile, req. Rocketry
    - Added: Missionary units for all new religions, this should fix crash issue with religions

    Events
    ------
    - Changed: Adjusted occurrance rate for Crucible Steel event, now might happen in 2 of 3 games
    - Changed: Rabbi event activated
    - Changed: Golden Buddha event activated
    - Changed: Preaching researcher event activated
    - Fixed: Text entry for Crucible Steel event
    - Added: Poisoned Arrows event
    - Added: Sandstorm event


    Techs
    -----
    - Added: Advanced Rocketry
    - Changed: City Planning can not be found from Goody hut
    - Changed: Monarchy can not be found from Goody hut
    - Changed: Usury can not be found from Goody hut
    - Changed: Rocketry moved earlier, Advanced Rocketry replaces its old spot
    - Changed: Polytheism requires now Mysticism, no longer require Priesthood
    - Changed: Dualism requires now Priesthood, cost increased from 56 to 100
    - Changed: Monarchy requires Monotheism instead of Polytheism
    - Changed: Monotheism moved bit earlier, requires now Polytheism instead of Dualism
    - Changed: Sculpture requires now polytheism (forces Hinduism to be founded before Hellenism), cost increased from 95 to 120
    - Changed: Divine Right removed Monarchy requirement (was included pre-reqs already), requires now Architecture
    - Changed: Robotics require Manufacturing and Laser


    Resources
    ---------
    - Changed: AI Trade modifiers increased for Banana, Dye, Fur, Gems, Gold, Incense, Ivory, Silk, Silver, Spices, Sugar, Wine, Whale, Hemp, Salt, Potato, Coffee, Pearls, Lemons, Cotton
    - Changed: AI Trade modifier decreased for Glassware
    - Changed: Unique value increased for Aluminium to 4, makes AI players want more this resource and cause war more often
    - Changed: Unique value increased for resources: Lemon, Fur, Gems, Gold, Incense, Ivory, Silk, Spices, Sugar, Hemp, Salt, Coffee

    Promotions
    ----------
    - Changed: Anti-tank defense I requires Advanced Rocketry
    - Changed: Fieldsman I -15% hill defense added (hills can have plains/grassland so now overal bonus for hills is +15% plains-15% hills = 0%)
    - Changed: Fieldsman II -15% hill attack added, same reason as for Fieldsman I, Plains/Grassland terrain double movement bonus removed
    - Changed: Fieldsman III -20% hill defense/attack added (0% overal bonus grassland/plains+hills)


    Improvements
    ------------
    - Fixed: Railroad now correctly gives +1 hammer for Town, Village, Cottage, Hamlet

    Python
    ------
    - Changed: CvPath.py checks game/mod location with different method now

    Pedia
    -----
    - Added: More Rise of Mankind hints

    Sound
    -----
    - Fixed: audio defines DIPLO_LE_LOI_EARLY and DIPLO_LE_LOI_LATE were missing


    Other
    -----
    - Removed: Commented lines/sections from most xml files. There's been reports on forums that in some cases these commented lines can cause bugs in mods.
    This patch should fix most bugs that were found from v2.0 - including few CTD issues. Kalimakhus' addon won't be compatible with this version until it's updated as well.
     
  15. Edward The Big

    Edward The Big Bob Crane's Tripod

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    204
    I assume I can still use the Extra Civ addon with patch 2.01?

    But we can't use the Revolution add-on...

    Is that right?
     
  16. Alphacodex

    Alphacodex Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Wow, what a great mod! However I can only tell by the thread here because every download attempt has failed so far. My last attempt was canceled after 4 hours downloading with the message "time out" !! Great...

    I'd really love to try out your mod but as there is no resume allowed on filefront, it doens't really make sense to try over and over again. Is there anyother mirroror chance to get your mod??

    Btw - your mod could maybe have a lot more fans, if it would be easier to get it...:rolleyes:

    Thanx...
    Codex
     
  17. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Extra Civ addon should work just fine with v2.01. Extra Civ addon does lack one audio fix that is in v2.01 patch but that shouldn't affect anything.

    Revolution addon has been now updated to RoM v2.01 and I've updated my little fix that allows you to use both Extra Civ and Revolution addons at the same time. Check first page for new download files.

    I guess I'll have to look for other download mirrors. Anyone know any that allows resuming downloads?
     
  18. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    RevolutionDCM Add-On for RoM is updated to work with RoM2.01. You all can get it here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=9087

    The new version also includes the latest DLL for RevolutionDCM that is based on Bhruic's patch 1.21. Some minor bug fixes were implemented as well.

    For everybody either you have the previous Add-On version or not what you need to do is:
    1 - Install the 2.01 patch for RoM that was released by Zappara.
    2 - Go to Rise of Mankind\assets and delete the Python folder.
    3 - Install the Add-On by extracting it to the mods folder or by opening the archive file in WinRar then drag the folder Rise of Mankind from its window to mods folder.

    In case you have the Extra civ Add-On installed or you install it afterward there is a patch that needs to be applied. The patch was first issued by Zappara but now I updated it to be compatible with RoM2.01. You will find the patch as a rar file inside Rise of Mankind folder after installing the Add-On. Copy the two files inside this rar to assets\xml\audio and you are all set to go.
     
  19. Alphacodex

    Alphacodex Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    There are several sites that use mirrors that are at least faster and more stable than filefront. I will check if I can find out something. However what about putting the file on eMule in the meantime. I would offer to "host" it via eMule for at least a week until we can find a better mirror (i have a 24/7 connection with a 1MBit upload - not great, but it will help spreading a bit...).


    Greetings
    Codex
     
  20. CrazyAce

    CrazyAce Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    I'm here, soon to be there.
    Na I'm gonna have to say stay away form the torrents!!!

    Thanx for the update Zap, although 1 question runs to mind if I already have RevDCM does it mean that I have to completely uninstall RoM2 and then reinstall with RoM2+Patch+RevDCM3.0?

    Or can I just get away with what Kalimakhus posted?
     

Share This Page