[BTS] Total War 0.93 (Beta Test Version)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by jojoweb, Mar 28, 2008.

  1. krasny

    krasny Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    The mod description wasn't really that enlightening, and I really can't be bothered reading through umpteen pages of posts, which may or may not answer this question, so....

    Why is this mod called Total War?

    Is it about always being at war?

    Or maybe something to do with the Total War series of video games?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    The mod is called Total War because the first new developped concepts were inspired by Total War (you can asserve the population of a conquered city for example). But the most new features included in this mod doesn't concern war.

    I have made a website which list most of the new features of the Total War mod but the hosting is temporarly closed. You can retry to access to this presentation website soon.
     
  3. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    The civilization-totalwar website now works again.
     
  4. HappyHenchman

    HappyHenchman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    yeah but does the mod? :p
     
  5. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    The version 1.1 is online. It may be more compatible with Windows Vista/Seven.
     
  6. SteelSterling

    SteelSterling Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Mod looks awesome! I am getting some errors however. I'm using Win7 64 bit. When it starts, (while mod is loading) I get this:
    Failed Loading XML file xml/text_en\last_text_total_war.xml
    [.\FXml.cpp:1337] Error parsing XML file-
    file:xml\text_en\last_text_total_war.xml
    Reason: End tag 'TEXT' does not match the start tag 'T.'
    Line: 4314,4
    Source: </TEXT>

    I also get this error:
    LoadXML call failed for xml\text_en\last_text_total_war.xml
    Current XML file is: xml\text_en\civ4gametext_civlopedia_techs.xml

    When I'm setting up a custom game, some of the optiosn (the last 13) look similar to this; TXT.KEY_GAME_OPTION_NO_VOTE_CONSTITUTION

    Also, when I'm selecting the AI civs, there's no numbers by them so I have no idea how many I'm playing against.

    I remember playing this mod a while ago and really enjoyed it! I can play now, but I've only completed one turn so no idea what will happen later on.
     
  7. NCC1017spock

    NCC1017spock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    USA
    Yea, the mods looks great! Im running Windows 7 myself, no luck on start up
     
  8. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    Urgl, sorry, i have never tested the english version (i'm french). The three problems you have detected are due to the same error (a tag in the english text files wasn't closed). You can fix it by using this little patch: http://www.civilization-totalwar.com/Patch_1.1a.7z. I will fix the Total_War_1.1.7z file and upload it again.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  9. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    The re-upload is done.
     
  10. NCC1017spock

    NCC1017spock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    USA
    still crashes on start up for me :(
     
  11. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    Can you detail what happen ? Does the mod crash after the first turn, or before, or after ? What king of game do you launch (custom or not) ?

    Thank you.
     
  12. SteelSterling

    SteelSterling Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    It was working fine until I tried to build a guard tower at which time it crashed to desktop with "Civilization IV has stopped working"...
     
  13. NCC1017spock

    NCC1017spock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    USA
    its as the mod is loading, I click on load the mod, and as its loading (before it ever actualy opens) it says Civ-4 has stopped responding and everyting goes black, then shuts down, and then i find myself looking at my desktop again :(
     
  14. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    Can you confirm that the Total_War_1.1.ini file is in the following folder ?:

    ...\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Total_War_1.1

    The Mod musn't be installed in My Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\MODS.
     
  15. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    The crash doesn't occur on my computer. Can you follow the procedure explained in the Bug Report Thread ?

    Thanks.
     
  16. NCC1017spock

    NCC1017spock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    USA
    This is its location - C:\Program Files (x86)\2K Games\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Gold\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Total_War_1.1

    so I believe its in the correct folder
     
  17. jojoweb

    jojoweb Chimpa-Z

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    Ok, so, have you installed the last patch for Civ IV BTS (3.19) ?
     
  18. NCC1017spock

    NCC1017spock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    USA
    Yup, so what do you think is wrong?
     
  19. kaltruhe

    kaltruhe Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Korea
    Is there anyone who can teach me how to create a religion with more compound religions option? I have been trying for whole day, but I still can not find the way....
     
  20. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Hi Jojo,
    Nice to see you back. I downloaded the file on august 6th, do I need to redownload it if I am playing in french or is the one I have OK (changes fix english version text bugs only) ?
     

Share This Page