1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BUG] 2 Great people in same turn from city?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by _hero_, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. _hero_

    _hero_ King

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    795
    In my game last night as Songhai, my capital had 696/700 great person points for an artist, and 693/700 for an engineer. I was getting 7/turn for artists and 15/turn for engineers. I had a Garden, as well as all SPs and wonders effecting GP generation rate. All my artist points were coming from Wonders. My engineer points were coming from both specialists and wonders. Additionally I was generating scientist points.

    I end turn figuring I'll get one or the other. But to my surprise and delight, I get both in my capital and both had their GP points reset to 0/900. Unfortunately I didn't take a screenshot and forgot to save.

    This seems to be a potentially nasty exploit. If it can be done in more than 1 city at once, it's theoretically possible to pop out a ton of 0/100 scientists or engineers in one turn and then have it reset to 0/1000 or something. Even if it can only be done in one city, you could still pop out a merchant, scientist, engineer, and artist without paying the extra points you should.
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Please provide a savegame directly prior to this event.
     
  3. _hero_

    _hero_ King

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    795
    As I said, I don't have one, but I am going to try to replicate it at some point. Was hoping by mentioning it someone else might replicate it as well.
     
  4. Castar

    Castar Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    I had the exact same situation. Two GPP bars "finishing" at the same time nets two great people, it would seem. Not sure if this is a bug or a feature, I think it's rather difficult to get two to finish exactly at the same time.
     
  5. Quagga

    Quagga Former Dictator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Li'l Rhody
    This doesn't seem like a bug to me. It appears that the game has a separate tallies of GP points for each type of great person in each city. This means it is possible to get more than one GP in a single turn. I've had it happen to me multiple times, though I don't know if I ever got two in the same city on the same turn.
     
  6. bhavv

    bhavv Glorious World Dictator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,358
    This isnt a bug, this is how great people work in Civ V.

    All your points for each GP are seperate, and dont reset when you get one.
     
  7. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    No - it is a bug. Every time a great person pops, the overall counter is reset, but individual ones aren't.
     
  8. _hero_

    _hero_ King

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    795
    It's a bug in the sense that I got 2 GP at 700 points. The second one should cost 800 points as the counter goes up 100 for each person born.
     
  9. Anastomosis

    Anastomosis Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Yes, it should probably give you the GP of the type that has the highest total tally of GP points, then keep the points for the one with the lower tally without giving you the GP.

    In your example, you had 703 for artists and 708 for engineers. So you should get an Great Engineer, and the artist tally should show 703/800. If they're tied, randomly pick one.

    Just an idea for your next patch, Firaxis. I'm a programmer so I can't help but throw out solutions like this, sorry.
     
  10. metalmadt

    metalmadt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Montreal
    When you get 2 great person at the same time, they give you both and jump the great people points ahead 2 steps...

    Don't know if it's intentional. Technically, you would have spend the same amount of great people point but this can be really useful in your timeline.

    Moderator Action: Threads merged. The_J
     
  11. alvan

    alvan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Im usually not to report benefitial bugs (maybe this is WAD) but since the game is too easy anyway I figured I report this.

    Had two GPs spawn at the same time, an Engineer and a Scientist (as you can see on the screenshot) which really doesnt do much other then I dont have to wait an additional X turns for the 2nd one. Why? Because they had the same "count" (as in they would finish same turn) - and I was wondering if the roll of the dice would give me either, instead it gave me both! :D

    Minor bug, but for a powergamer this can be exploited if one can manage GP farming properly.

    Moderator Action: Threads merged. The_J
     

    Attached Files:

  12. EndoConvert

    EndoConvert Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    I agree with multiple other posters above: this is not a bug. If you manage your GP points so that two bars hit the ceiling in the same turn, then two Great Persons should pop out. It wouldn't make sense that for only one to pop out because both are hitting the ceiling in the same turn. And seeing as how two GPs pop out, it does make sense for the increment for the next GP to jump by two. This all follows logically from how the GP system works.
     
  13. Pep

    Pep King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Spain
    This bug is still present in the latest patch [1.0.1.348].

    In the screenshot you can see Madrid is going to produce a great artist and a great engineer next turn. Also, I've attached the savegame so you can test it.

    Madrid has 4 engineer slots filled, so removing all of them cause the GE not to be born next turn.

    I've made the following tests (Marathon speed):
    • Allow the 2 GP to be born. The GP counter limit for the next GP increases from 2700 to 3300.
    • Allow only the GA to be born. The GP counter limit for the next GP increases from 2700 to 3000.

    So, at least, the GP counter limit increases correctly when the 2 GP are born.

    Contrary to several posters in this thread, I do consider the current behaviour a bug. You're receiving 300 GP points for free for one of the 2 GP.

    IMO, the correct behaviour should be the following: only the GP with the greatest overflow towards the current GP counter limit is born. If there's a tie, one of them is chosen randomly. Then, the next GP counter limit is increased (by 300 in Marathon speed). The "loser" GP increased counter is saved, so he will need less than 300 points to be the next one born.

    In fact, I consider the current behaviour as an exploit. You can micromanage GP points per turn (tweaking specialists slots) to make 2 GP being born at the same turn (and obtaining 300 free extra GP points).

    EDIT: removed the savegame because I'm near my quota limit.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. ViterboKnight

    ViterboKnight King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    789
    I don't know if a bug, or instead, the expected behavior.

    A city generated TWO great persons (a scientist and an artist) in the same turn.
    Is it normal, or instead the required GP points for the second person should immediately increase after the first one is born?
     
  15. Pep

    Pep King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Spain
    It's indeeed a bug and has been already reported in this thread (confirmed bugs subforum):
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=383882
     
  16. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Thanks for noticing the already reported bug :) -> Moderator Action: Threads merged.
     
  17. ViterboKnight

    ViterboKnight King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    789
    Eheheh... sorry... I tried to see if it were already reported, but didn't find! :)
     
  18. chazzycat

    chazzycat Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,917
    Does anyone know if this was fixed? I tried to do it the other day (before august patch) and wasn't able to get it work like in the past.
     
  19. Pep

    Pep King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Spain
    No, it hasn't been properly fixed in 1.0.1.383. Just download the savegame from the following post: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=10687491&postcount=13 and see what happens.
     
  20. chazzycat

    chazzycat Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,917
    Yeah, I was able to do it again in another game. Still have no idea why it wouldn't work that time.
     

Share This Page