1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Reports and Technical Issues

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth That's rough buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fire Nation
    I'm continuing on my efforts to abuse you as beta testers :D

    This thread is to report bugs, crashes or simply things that don't seem to work as they're supposed to. I'm incredibly thankful for every bug report I get here, because that's the only way to effectively test everything, since I don't have the time to play out every addition I make :)

    Note: I will acknowledge bug reports using the "like" function, unless I have something to add or a specific question. Posts I have liked have an associated note in my backlog and will be addressed eventually.

    As it's in our mutual interest to get every problem located and fixed quickly, please follow the subsequent guidelines:

    1) Check if the error was reported already. At least read the previous page to see if someone else already had your problem.
    2) Please note which version (release or Git) of the modmod you're using, and the revision in case of the Git version. I'll assume its the current Git revision at time of posting unless noted otherwise
    3) Enable Python exceptions and logging. The former shows an error message ingame whenever something's wrong with Python (and that's the reason for 95% of the errors), the latter stores these into a separate file. Both are disabled on default, to activate them, open your Beyond the Sword folder and open the _Civ4Config link. Then search for "HidePythonExceptions" and "LoggingEnabled" and set them to 0 and 1, respectively, i.e.:
    Code:
    ; Set to 1 for no python exception popups
    HidePythonExceptions = 0
    [...]
    ; Enable the logging system
    LoggingEnabled = 1
    4) Make screenshots, often it's much easier to understand what you mean this way.
    5) Keep savegames and logs ready. I need to locate the error and have an easy method to verify if the fix works; that's what those are for. You find your logs under "My Games\Beyond the Sword\Logs\", and I'm usually referring to PythonDbg.txt when I'm asking for one. Please keep in mind that logs get overridden once you start a new game, so better make a copy of it. Saves are usually the best way for me to reproduce errors, because engineering a proper situation for myself is hard and time consuming. They may not be necessary, but it's good if you have them. Savegames from before the problem occurs are more useful than those from afterwards (I want to reproduce the error and see if my fixes remove it), so it's for the best if you keep a previous autosave on hand.

    Common problems:

    I have downloaded the mod, but when I start it, the menu screen is empty.
    It's likely that this is because you're playing BtS with a language other than English. This mod is only in English, and for some reason this affects the main menu for all other languages. Switching your language to English should take care of this problem and is highly advisable anyway, because most of it isn't translated.

    I have installed the Git version, but the scenarios do not show up / when starting the scenarios it appears as if there are no changes compared to the latest download.
    Make sure you have renamed the mod folder "RFC Dawn of Civilization" after downloading. Otherwise the scenarios won't find the mod they belong to.

    I have recently reinstalled Civ4 BtS and the mod won't start.
    Make sure that the game is updated to the latest version (3.19). The automatic patch process is not sufficient to get up to date, you have to download the patch from the download database here at CFC.

    I am using the Steam version of Civ4 BtS, and when starting the mod I receive error messages along the lines of "unable to execute file".
    There are some problems with the Steam version and its attempt to work around the shutdown of Gamespy. What you have to do is to switch to the original version of the game which is available on Steam as a "beta". See here for detailed instructions on how to do so.

    I downloaded the Git repo as a ZIP file, now when I try to start a scenario it quits with the message "failed to read world builder file"
    This may affect one or more scenarios and is unfortunately a consequence of how Github creates its ZIP files, so I cannot do anything about it. To fix the problem, get Notepad++ and open the scenario file ("open with Notepad++"), then choose Edit -> EOL Conversion -> Windows.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  2. Novicenoble

    Novicenoble Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    East Asia
    I'm playing 1.12 version with Varietas Delectat mod.

    Spoiler :




    I found that city nationality display bugged in both number and color display. Please check whether it works properly or not.
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth That's rough buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fire Nation
    That happens when you do last minute changes! Fix will be up at some point today.
     
  4. Novicenoble

    Novicenoble Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    East Asia
    I thought I downloaded official 1.12 version :p Is it the problem of Varietas Delectat mod or you mean last minute change on 1.12 release?

    Anyway I got another python error, related with stability check.



    Spoiler :
    [/url]






     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth That's rough buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fire Nation
    Last minute in terms of release.

    Can you upload a save from the turn before the exception is produced?
     
  6. Novicenoble

    Novicenoble Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    East Asia
    I have a save that is 7 turns before the error happens.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth That's rough buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fire Nation
    Should be alright, thanks.
     
  8. Manuss

    Manuss Sleeping man

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,454
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nation of public debt
    I got this just after a congress:
    Spoiler :
     
  9. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    What are these flags?
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth That's rough buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fire Nation
    Once again I have to ask for the save.

    Edit: nevermind, will be fixed.
     
  11. citis

    citis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    It's a leftover from my histcol modmodmod. I don't know if the save is openable, since the modmodmod is partially incompatible with vanilla version and has unpredictable behaviour with VD module.
     
  12. Novicenoble

    Novicenoble Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    East Asia
    It seems like I cannot continue to play from auto saved files. It waits other civs turn quite long - I didn't saw it goes on properly, so practically forever. Any possible reasons?
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth That's rough buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fire Nation
    No idea, sorry.
     
  14. citis

    citis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    I managed to win a chinese UHV in 1811AD. Is it intentional?
     
  15. SeekTruthFromFacts

    SeekTruthFromFacts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    This may be a bug or a feature and it's from SVN765 (which I know is ancient history), but you (Leoroth) will know whether it's what you intended.



    The text says that Chicago has been transferred from the British to the Americans but it's unmistakably in the hands of the French. The Congress proposal was a British-American transfer and all the voting was on this. The French asked for (and got) another city (Tete-a-la-Baleine). There might have been French forces in the area (expelled when their colony became Mexico), but I hadn't noticed them earlier.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Leoreth

    Leoreth That's rough buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fire Nation
    Do you have a save so I can play through that congress on my own?
     
  17. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,182
    Iran is starving in 1700 AD. It is generally understood that civilization must be able to maintain population points of all her cities 1 turn after the start. 1700 AD Iran cannot do it!
     
  18. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,180
    And why is that?
     
  19. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,182
    Roman roads would not provide any bonus in 1700 AD compared with the rest of the world and can be safely replaced with regular roads in eponymous scenario.
     
  20. SeekTruthFromFacts

    SeekTruthFromFacts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Unfortunately I don't have a save from the turn immediately before. The 1840 save is the nearest I have to the Congress of Plymouth (above). I've also attached an 1898 save, because the same anomaly occurred at the 1900 Congress of Konya. This time the Vikings asked for their old city of Paarl (South Africa) from the English (me), but then this happened:



    Something which may be relevant: the French (in 1848) and the Mexicans (in 1900) had both been awarded other cities. The Mexicans were supposed to, and did, get British Honduras from the English.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop