1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Builder Mod v1.0

Builder cheaper, more charges, can build roads

  1. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    12monkeys submitted a new resource:

    Builder Mod - Builder cheaper, more charges, can build roads

    Read more about this resource...
     
    gelodgreat likes this.
  2. Brackenspore

    Brackenspore Prince

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    10 charges?
     
    bladex likes this.
  3. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe


    :) If you don't like, don't use it!
     
  4. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,103
    Location:
    In orbit
    OK, nice job. But why not simply disable Builder expiration? No other unit in the game 'expires'.
     
  5. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    Not sure if this is possible, maybe by seting Build Charges to 0 or -1.
    I will have to try...
     
  6. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,103
    Location:
    In orbit
    Cool. Would greatly appreciate - and I'm sure others would too. ;)
     
  7. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    Sorry, not posible. I tried it with 0 and -1, but that only results, that you the unit disappears after first action.

    So, only solution would be, to set the number of Build Charges to 9999 or any other extremly high value. How this can be done, you can check in first post.
     
  8. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,103
    Location:
    In orbit
    That's OK, I'm not looking to mod the game myself. But thanks for the suggestion. ;)
     
  9. Firebug

    Firebug Not-so Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,271
    Location:
    Clevedon, England
    I have no interest in this mod myself, but have you tried looking at how the Roman Legion handles charges? They have a single charge but don't expire.
     
  10. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    Just checked the Roman Legion. Can't find any parameters, which may have such an effect. I guess it will be something in the DLL.
     
  11. Eep

    Eep Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Is there a way to set turn counts to do various things like past Civ workers? So no more instant building but, like, 5 turns to build a road, 10 for farm/mine, etc? Or at least only have roads "instant" (1 turn). Combined with unlimited "charges", the builder would be more like the worker in previous Civs.
     
  12. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    It may be possible, but is way more than this little mod itends to be. I don't think it will be possible only by tweaking XML and DB, but will require DLL modding.
     
  13. ThisNameIsTooLo

    ThisNameIsTooLo Emotion Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Is it possible to change the sell value of Builders so as to curtail the cheesy strategy of selling them off after getting them down to one remaining charge?
     
  14. Dirzi

    Dirzi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Female
    Maybe someone knows how to teach the workers to remove unneeded road?
     
  15. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    Maybe, need to be checked. I will try to look.

    I doubt that this will be possible by simple DB / XML tweak. But I will have a quick view as well.
     
  16. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    I check both in data structure (not in any LUA code).

    1. Sell Values:
    nothing could be found related to a unit. I "guess" that the sell price is somehow related to a global factor (puchase cost * factor). But I couldn't find that factor in the data structurer. Maybe its somewhere hardcoded.

    2. Remove Roads:
    also nothing to find. Raods are no improvements, and thats why they can't be removed by a standard command.

    For both questions, its currently beyond my knowledge to modify it. Maybe when SDK is out.
     
  17. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,395
    Yeah, couldn't find values for those either.
    On top of that, as far as I can tell you can't even decide what Improvements/Builder Actions consume a charge and which don't.

    The "most moddable Civ up to date" doesn't seem all that moddable to me.
     
  18. 12monkeys

    12monkeys Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Germany, Europe
    At least not the shape it is right now. But I think we have to be fair and wait for the SDK.
     
  19. Dirzi

    Dirzi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Female
    Let's hope...
     
  20. kevinbad2010

    kevinbad2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    Any idea when they will release the SDK?
     

Share This Page