1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] Building canals not possible though following the rules

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Sporally, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. Sporally

    Sporally Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    Hi


    So I´ve read the rules of placing a canal district carefully. I´ve already placed one canal district in my capital which connects the city with the ocean.

    However, I have a well suited tile where I wanted to build a canal district from the beginning of my game. But now I´ve found that this is not possible.

    I can only see one explaination to this but I am dissapointed this hinders me from building it. Can it really be true that you can´t build canal districts over luxury ressources and have the replaced? I never replaced luxury ressources, but all of a sudden I don´t get the option to remove the ressource.

    Can this really be so?

    I´ve embedded a screenshot so you guys can expect it yourself.

    Thanks a lot in advance!


    Cheers!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13,787
    Luxury resources are permanent. Only bonus resources can be removed.
     
    CPWimmer likes this.
  3. SxSnts9

    SxSnts9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Yes, luxury resources have always been permanent. If you want you can build the Panama Canal wonder right above it and it will connect across the three tiles while giving you some trade benefits as well.
     
  4. Sporally

    Sporally Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    That´s too bad I would say!

    So I guess I´ll be going for the Panama Canal. My city being poorer than Panama ever was I guess I´ll have it built in like 300 years or so :lol:

    Two of the tiles are within the range of my poor thundra city with one tile is within my capital´s range.

    Can I use my capital to aid building the canal? I see three possible scenarios for this:
    1) My capital can´t aid in the construction since most of the wonder is within another city´s range. Maybe it´s the center tile that defines which city can build it.
    2) My capital can build the wonder entirely.
    3) My capital will be able to build the wonder entirely.

    You´ve got the answer for that?
     
    agonistes likes this.
  5. FenrisWolf456

    FenrisWolf456 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    The wonder has to be built by one city, fully within its borders ... even though Panama Canal spans two tiles, you can't have it shared between two cities. So it would be build by your small city. The capital cannot help directly. However, you can use domestic trade routes to send from your Panama city to the capital. Domestic trade routes offer food and production bonuses and your capital is usually one of, if not the best city to send to for production help. Plus the food will help grow your Panama city, increasing your population and thus work more tiles.

    There are also policy cards that will help, most notably the ones that reduce the build time for wonders by 15% (if of the appropriate era).
     
  6. Sporally

    Sporally Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    Thanks for the info.

    But the Panama Canal would have to be three tiles for it to connect both oceans (see screenshot). Am I misunderstanding something here?
     
  7. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,186
    I do wonder why you can put a city center on a luxury but none of the other districts. Luxuries are often in the way for optimal district placement and are thus an affront to my OCD.
     
    SammyKhalifa likes this.
  8. kaspergm

    kaspergm Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,324
    Get the "Harvest all resources" mod. You won't look back.
     
    MisterBoomBoom likes this.
  9. Sporally

    Sporally Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    I better get that. This is quite annoying.

    SxSnts9, FenrisWolf456 (or someone else): Could you please explain to me how I can build the Panama Canal from my screenshot? I don´t get how it can be built if the Panama Canal only spans two tiles.
     
  10. UWHabs

    UWHabs Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,893
    Location:
    Toronto
    It can span up to 3 tiles (the wonder is one tile, and it build a canal on either side)
     
    Eagle Pursuit likes this.
  11. SxSnts9

    SxSnts9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Panama Canal spans up to 3 tiles. The other guy was misinformed.
     
  12. Sporally

    Sporally Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    Ok, but all 3 tiles still needs to be within one city´s range. So I guess that means I can´t build the Panama Canal in this case :sad:
     
  13. SxSnts9

    SxSnts9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Sure looks to me like that city in the north would have all 3 tiles belong to it. Am I missing something?

    Unless you're confused about tile management on a more basic level. Just purchase the two tiles you still need and make sure that the city owns all 3 (Go into worker management mode for the city and swap any tiles to it that are currently being used by another city). Then you should be able to plop down Panama Canal.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2019
  14. Sporally

    Sporally Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    Ups, that´s my big mistake!

    I will try it out in another game. Unfortunately I gave up on the project and placed a district there instead. I guess I never checked while I (later in the game) owned all three tiles. Or maybe I forgot to change the owner of the tiles to the northern city. On the other hand I don´t think they would ever have finished it looking at their low production...

    But now I´ve got something interesting to do in my next game... :) I will be playing my game on island plates next time. Seems it is a lot better than fractal (and any other map types) if you just love to build canals.
     

Share This Page