1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Building, medieval] Brewery [05/21/06]

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Duke van Frost, May 21, 2006.

  1. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    This is my first building for cIV and also the first model I´ve ever done with 3dsMAX - so please be patient :D

    Rendered.jpg

    As you can see it´s supposed to be a brewery (thx to C. Roland for the inspiration that came from his one)

    Preview Brewery.jpg

    The scale in the XML is set to 1.0 in the screenshots.

    The files:

    View attachment Brewery.zip


    Update:

    added a button to post #13



    Next thing I want to do is to give it some effects if it is used as an improvement and the tile worked by a citizen (light in the doors/windows and some smoke coming out of the chimney).
    So If anybody could give me some hints on how to do it I´d be very happy - your help would be very much appreciated here :goodjob:
     
  2. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    :nuke: reserved for future issues :nuke:
     
  3. This is completely awesome Duke! Really great job :goodjob:

    Only thing I would say is that you probably could've gotten a way with 8 sides for the barrels :), oh and see if you can add a smoke to the chimney (using NIF viewer).

    If this is your first ever model in max then I can't wait to see what you'll do next.
     
  4. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    Great first model Duke. :D

    Maybe we can convince you to do some sci-fi stuff too!
     
  5. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    thx guys :D

    The barrels are that small ingame that it wouldn´t matter, I think. And I wanted to start my modelling efforts with a "keep the polys as low as possible" spirit, so the five-sided barrels were just right to test how objects of this sort do look with the right skinning

    So... If you could explain me how to do it I´d be very happy, because otherwise I´ll have to find out how to do this by myself and I think this will be much harder than doing this simple model and skinning it.
     
  6. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    That will surely be possible, just try it! (as in "do request something" ;) )

    I hope in that way you´ll not be as disappointed for only getting the second reply :p (congrats Rabbit, I think that was a harder piece of work than doing all your great Units :clap: )
     
  7. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    wow that looks amazing. it gives hope to me, an unmodeler.

    btw, i miss darmstadt, what a beautiful town. i loved hangin out at the luizinplatz
     
  8. Belizan

    Belizan Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,060
  9. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    Wow :eek: the world´s a village nowadays :)
     
  10. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    i was at kelly kaserne back in '99. btw: sorry for joining army, but it let me see germany LOL
     
  11. Sorry, missed that :) Unfortunately I can't offer you any concrete advice as I haven't dealt with buildings extensively but your best bet would be to open up one of the vanilla buildings that have chimneys with smoke and see how they've done it. You could probably just copy the smoke effect from one of those into your building.

    You might also be able to do it similar to units, i.e. in the max scene create a dummy where the smoke should be, call it the same name as a similar dummy from a vanilla building, and then use its animations. Speaking of which, the windows and other stuff "turning on" when the tile is worked, I've no idea how to do that and I don't think there's any documentation on that. You'll probably need to use an animation (if such exists) from some vanilla building to do that.
     
  12. Chalid

    Chalid Black Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    You can alternativeley add the Effect directly when you do the animations in 3dsmax. As you are already working with it it should not be to hard.
    To place an effect add a dummy box and go to the notetrack of the box. (right klick on the box and there you can somewhere select it - took me ages to find this one :()
    Now add a note to the track called "EFFECT:SMOKE" or something at the timesteps of your active animation. If you define now an smokeeffect (e.g. using the existing chimney smoke) in your CIV4EffectInfos.xml that effect will be played during the active animation and the location of the effect will be your dummy box (which you would place at the chimey of course).

    For the Lights: Define a new mesh (in the windows) and set its emissive color to maximum (in the material or later in the nif viewer). Now you add an visibility track to that mesh (somewhere in the animation trackbar at the bottom you can do this) and make the mesh invisible during standard animations and visible for your active animations)

    You'll need 4 Animation sequences for the building as improvement. (You'll have to look up the eventcodes in existing improvement .kf files).
    Note: All things you do by animations will only show for resources and improvements, not for city buildings!

    Edit: Note to R.W. you can simply add the Chimey smoke-Effect (from your art/effects folder) via nif viwer. Than the smoke will always be visible even as buildings (did this for one building). You will see no on off active/inactive effects through.
     
  13. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
  14. Kyburg

    Kyburg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Canton of Zurich / Switzerland
    Very great, this brewery. Thank you. (TXT_CAUTIONGERMANWORD: Oazopft is!)

    Could someone tell how exactly to integrate this new building
    in a mod, especially the XML files.
     
  15. Psycadelic_Magi

    Psycadelic_Magi Hippie/Philosopher/Peanut

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Northeast England
    I think a brewery would do best if someone created a new resource (hops) if it were to be used in a mod; more accurate and less of a dilemma for players (beer or bread!? My god!). Just a thought.
     
  16. Ploeperpengel

    Ploeperpengel academic precarity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,748
    Location:
    Berlin
    Duke this is fantastic stuff!
    Bugman will be happy with your efforts:)
     
  17. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    It seems like we´ll definitely have barley (instead of hops) in the WHFB mod! It was already in the first alpha.
     

Share This Page