1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

C code help request

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Giant Earth Map Mod' started by Genghis_Kai, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I am wondering if someone can do me a favor for the following issues:

    1) Make a 50 civ and a 60 civ version for the latest dll. I want to test and if 50 or even 60 doesn't degrade performance that much, I would like to make it as GEM's default. Imagine having Switerland and Ireland being playable in the 1940 scenario! :D

    2) Make Minor Nation peaceful (i.e. not start to be at war with everyone). I've spent the last two nights to see whether I can do this in XML or python's level without success. I think this has to be hard-coded (Hence, I need help :eek:)
     
  2. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Great idea!
     
  3. armand453

    armand453 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Its not difficult at all you can do that by only changing one variable (MAX_CIV_PLAYER) in CvDefines.h.
    Here you have tutorial for installing correctly VC express 2005 if you need, and here the latest make file for 3.17. Its really fast to do.

    Armand.
     
  4. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Thanks Armand. However, I did try before working on the SDK but wasn't success. Would you mind to do that for me?
     
  5. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I now have got different versions of the dll already (48, 50 and 60 civs). Thanks Ace of Spades and the Better AI mod team :goodjob: I will try adding more civs to the 1940 scenario first to see if there is any significant performance degradation.
     
  6. Ace of Spades

    Ace of Spades GEM Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    What you should be aware of is that it will probably lead to a high number of colonies created, taking up the free slots. Too bad that cannot (to my knowledge) be disabled manually, but expect weird civilizations to show up in the scenarios in weird places... like Iraq in Australia and the like.

    Best Regards,
    Martin
     
  7. Traiano

    Traiano Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA (POB: Rome, Italy)
    Genghis,

    That's great!
    Any chance you can upload the 48 civs dll?
    I'd like to download it and test a few things on my mod as well, and perhaps add 2-3 civs.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  9. Traiano

    Traiano Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA (POB: Rome, Italy)

Share This Page