1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[C3C] AI not trading techs

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by fireblade80, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. fireblade80

    fireblade80 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Hello everybody!

    I've been using this forum extensively to improve my Civ3 skills to the point where Monarch is no longer a challenge for me and I play on Emperor now.

    I am now in a Pangea 70% standard game with the Chinese and aiming for a Domination or Conquest victory.

    I am experiencing a very weird situation in this game, probably a bug or so, since all of a sudden, like 20 or so turns ago, the AI civs simply refused to trade techs for cash with me, even though prior to that they wanted to sell a tech for 50 GPT or so. At this point, nobody desires to sell any tech to me, even though i have over 100 GPT per turn. I can only extort techs against peach treaties, like I did with England.

    I am posting my latest saved game, just a turn after the Iroquis declared war on me, saving me the trouble of breaking a ROP agreement. If you can help me with this no-tech-trading situation/bug, I would be very grateful. Also, any play style advice for improvement of my strategies is most welcome.

    Thanks for reading my post! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,865
    You crashed you trading reputation. It's a rather badly implemented thing which often blames you for what it shouldn't.
     
  3. fireblade80

    fireblade80 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the reply, Lone Wolf! :D

    Now that you mention it, I think I know what happened. I conquered Paris from the French and, after a few turns, it reverted back to France. Paris had access to 2 Furs and I traded one of them + some GPT to the Persians, I think, for 2 other luxuries. Due to the cultural flip, the deal was violated and the blame fell on me. :cry:

    Cultural flips are awfully frequent on Emperor and, therefore, very annoying. How do you cope with them when aiming for a Domination victory?
     
  4. Snarkhunter

    Snarkhunter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    485
    Location:
    Annapolis
    Turn the darned setting off, that's how :lol:

    kk
     
  5. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,842
    Location:
    Ohio
    Exterminate the tribe.
     
  6. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    When they won't trade/sell techs, extortion and stealing becomes necessary.
     
  7. MonkeyBusiness

    MonkeyBusiness Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I like using armies and putting one of those on a recently conquered city.

    That pretty much stops any flips. That should give you time to get a trade route there, poprush/buy a market place, and starve their population down to size.

    Although its required for the fascist government (I think, although I'm a bigger fan of communism) getting rid of foreign nationals in a city is worth it. Going back to war, and immediately having your border cities with that civ fall into civil disorder is a pain in the hole. Do it as soon as you take the place over, then bump it back up with settlers from a other cities.

    If you do that, and keep them happy, the culture flip should be less of a problem.

    Also, I didn't look at you game, so I dont know if you do it, but I also don keep units on my non-border cities - save them for the border, if its bordering with a high culture civ.

    Hope that helps a bit.
     
  8. splunge the 2nd

    splunge the 2nd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    I've lost armies to flips!!!!
    I'd think twice about leaving an army in a recently beaten city with a significant flip risk. I'd suggest parking the army adjacent to the city, get resigned tot he flip and retake it with the army, whittling down the indigenous population each time.
     
  9. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,842
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've also lost armies to flips. It doesn't solve the problem.
     
  10. puwen

    puwen Me? just lurking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well there are several flip calculators out there.

    Usually to get the 0% chance for flip you'll need a ridiculous amount of troops stationed there. I mostly use raze and replace since it seams quicker.

    If you still decide to keep the city, Id recomend rushing a library contrary to Monkeys Marketplace since number of foregin squares in the fat X is the most dependant value.
     
  11. CommandoBob

    CommandoBob AbstractArt

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    8,231
    Location:
    Too near The Temple of Jerry Jones
    Some quick rules of thumb that determine the flip risk:

    1. Distance to the captured city's capital/new capital.
    2. Number of tiles that surrond the city that you now control.
    3. Size of the city.

    Distance you can't control, and the number of tiles that you control adjacent to the city you can control somewhat (by conquering the next city).

    You can control the size of the city. Make everyone specialists and the city will starve. Build/rush workers, which will be birthed as slaves and thus will not cost you any upkeep.

    Units are safe in the city only on the turn the city is captured. If you have units to spare, move them into the city to stop the resistance. That won't reduce the flip chances, but if you get all the resisters under control on that first turn, you can then rush units in the city. You can't rush anything when you have resisting citizens.

    After that first turn, if the flip risks are high, move units out of the city but keep them close enough to recapture the city if it flips. Flipping and re-capturing will also reduce the city size.

    This is not a real good explanation of flip chances. I use Map Stat, which determines the flip chance for me and tells me how many units I need to prevent the city from flipping.
     

Share This Page