1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

C3C v1.20 patch is out!!!

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by player1 fanatic, Mar 31, 2004.

  1. JazzToucan

    JazzToucan Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    I'm relatively content with the changes done through 1.15 and there's little reason for me to download this patch. I'll just wait for Civ4.
     
  2. microbe

    microbe Cascaded Mansion

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,596
    I concur that the product management at Firaxis doesn't look like doing its job.

    Considering apparently there is no (qualified) QA at Firaxis, their "beta patch" process is better than no beta, but still not good enough. Patch 1.20 has shown clearly how terrible last minute changes could be. If I were the manager, I'd ask them to release "rc patches" (release-candidate) for wide testing, and only when there is no problem, release the last rc patch as-is - WITHOUT CHANGES!

    Although I put most complaint on Firaxis, the community is at part of the fault too. While some people repeatedly ask for new/cool features in the patch, reality has repeatedly shown that what a bad idea that is.

    Please, people (esp. veteran players), refrain from making new requests! And Firaxis, pay attention to the true bugs! :mad:

    Highlight the bugs I personally consider must-fix:
    1. submarine
    2. scientific age

    And better to fix but not if you cannot make sure the fix is right:
    * Culture calculation mismatch between city and nation.
     
  3. CIVPhilzilla

    CIVPhilzilla Reagan Republican

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,714
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Awesome, g2g finish my last game so I can update.
     
  4. dvandyke

    dvandyke War is Terrorism

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    England
    Very funnny!
    When is the real patch out?
     
  5. CIVPhilzilla

    CIVPhilzilla Reagan Republican

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,714
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Nah, came out on the 31st. :lol:
     
  6. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  7. ltccone

    ltccone Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    1.20
     
  8. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
    Good Idea.

    Where would you have the make the changes, is it just changing the name in the editor, or will there have to be changes made in other files like pediaicons as well.
     
  9. zurichuk

    zurichuk King

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Zürich
    hehe, that reminds me of when CM4 in the UK released a final patch where the crossing the ball attribute had been replaced by a 'washing-up' attribute, a joke that they forgot to remove, they replaced the patch within the hour

    on topic - honest views from the big players - is it worth updating?
     
  10. Hygro

    Hygro soundcloud.com/hygro/

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    23,409
    Location:
    California
    But doesn't the patch require you load PBEM with Multiplayer, not Singleplayer? Singleplayer loading is SO much faster that I couldn't stand having to go through multiplayer.

    Or did I misread?
     
  11. SirPleb

    SirPleb Shaken, not stirred.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,415
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    I say no. Because MP is totally shot in this release, and since it has nothing of great value over 1.15, I think 1.15 will probably remain the defacto standard. My suggestion to Firaxis would be to retract 1.20 to reduce confusion.
     
  12. zurichuk

    zurichuk King

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Zürich
    thanks, i must admit i have no personal issues with 1.15beta, even the 'sub' bug can be used to good advantage

    ps love your sid hof write-up
     
  13. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    When I read this thread, I start wondering where might be my CTP II CD?
     
  14. CivCube

    CivCube Feelin' defiant.

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,816
    Should I uninstall the beta patch before installing this one?
     
  15. Civrules

    Civrules We the People

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    I don't think it matters...;)
     
  16. CivCube

    CivCube Feelin' defiant.

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,816
    I don't even play MP. :p Should I uninstall first?
     
  17. troytheface

    troytheface Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,262
    in the Plague scenario radio is still there.
    and appaently in mp there is a major problem. Damn, now i have to uninstall the thing
     
  18. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    My opinion on this bogus patch release; The game designers should be more concerned with fixing existing errors/bugs rather than trying to remove techs from the tree and all of that jazz. Take the submarine bug, it's a known bug that hasn't been fixed for how many patches? Instead of removing the Radio tech, why not try and fix that bug?
     
  19. Civrules

    Civrules We the People

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    CC, you can just install it over the beta patch. :)
     
  20. Keetchaz

    Keetchaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Does anyone know where one can still get the 1.15 patch? I installed 1.20 straight from the original version, and now I'm having trouble joining MP games, where everybody's running 1.15.
     

Share This Page