1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Can Civ game finish in a draw?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by ahmedhadzi, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. ahmedhadzi

    ahmedhadzi Relocation Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Astoria, NYC
    I just had this thought. If all the victory conditions have been disabled (for the obvious reasons) except time victory, can game finish in a draw? That two or more players finish with the same score. And if anyone could pull that out I would vote him king of Civ:king:, because I think it would be tremendous effort.
    So, any thought how that could be done, and was anyone close to this?
     
  2. ahmedhadzi

    ahmedhadzi Relocation Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Astoria, NYC
    Wow, no one?
     
  3. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    This sounds interesting... I should try it some time. If I do, that I will be sure to post it here (that is if someone tells me how you type the print key on a mac).
     
  4. BakingTheArt

    BakingTheArt His Evening Coat

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    A two-story box
    It's Apple+Shift+3, and it saves the pic under "Picture #" on the desktop. ;)
     
  5. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    Yeah, I knew that. Its just I use Boot Camp so I can run windows thus I can play BtS. So, Apple+Shift+3 doesn't work, and since I use a mac keyboard, I don't have the print key.

    Thanks for trying though.
     
  6. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,708
    Only way I can imagine is a tie for time victory. I doubt it results in a draw though.
     
  7. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm pretty sure victory conditions are checked in order of turn, so even for time victory, if two civs happened to have exactly the same score at the end of the game, the one who had their turn first would probably win. I can't confirm that from a game though! :lol:
     
  8. Rub'Rum

    Rub'Rum Hates acronyms

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,582
    Location:
    Québec
    I'm pretty sure that this would happen. Whoever gets their turn first wins. If you're in a tie with the AI, it's gonna find a weird bone to throw at you to make sure somehow he gets an extra point from a random pop increase event or some stuff like that. I hate this RNG guy.
     
  9. ahmedhadzi

    ahmedhadzi Relocation Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Astoria, NYC
    Well even if that is the case, tuning your score on time victory would be great thing in my opinion.
     
  10. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    Is the reason why no one is mentioning you can't win a tie in a space race is because if they land on the same turn, they look at something else to judge from to declare the winner (for example, the score)?
     
  11. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    No. Again, I'd assume it's simply the person who has their turn first who wins by spaceship.
     
  12. azzaman333

    azzaman333 meh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    22,877
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS Reputation:131^(9/2)
    To my knowledge, there is no way a draw can occur.
     
  13. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    Time Victory is judged at the end of a set of turns. They don't let the player do one turn without the AI doing one. It's still possible theoretically.

    To achieve this in practice, you could wipe everyone out except for one civilization. Then balance the score by gifting techs and cities. And if you happen to have a gigantic lead, let your cities starve. To prevent you from falling behind in score, you could play Noble so things are completely fair.
     
  14. vicawoo

    vicawoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,226
    Role playing challenge! End in a tie by time! Marathon, HOF mod, no restarting.
     
  15. Yngvi

    Yngvi Chevalier du Tastevin

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Frogtown, USA
    I've had games where during the game I've been tied with some civilization in score, and the game always ranked that civ above me. I wouldn't be surprised if on a Time-only VC the tie would go to the AI.
     
  16. ahmedhadzi

    ahmedhadzi Relocation Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Astoria, NYC
    Hahah, let's be realistic, let's allow reloads. Just for the sake of argument. And I don't really know mechanics but isn't that after every turn of ALL CIVS is check for victory conditions turn, like in Axis & Allies?
     
  17. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,708
    Never. Ever. Again.
     
  18. Joshua368

    Joshua368 Warmongering builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,072
    What if the tie is in simutanious-turn pitboss?
     
  19. azzaman333

    azzaman333 meh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    22,877
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS Reputation:131^(9/2)
    I don't know, but I doubt the game would allow the result to be a tie.
     

Share This Page