1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Can you build Dikes (Dutch UB) w/o rivers?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by jerVL/kg, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. jerVL/kg

    jerVL/kg Sheep Nuker

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Simple question -- Dikes replace Levees, which can only be built in riverside cities. But since the dike boosts production on all water tiles, can you build them w/o a river?

    I'm just about to start a game as the Dutch and wanna know if I should build most of my cities by rivers.
     
  2. Spearthrower

    Spearthrower Thrower of spears

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Dikes can be built on river or coastal cities.
     
  3. afa2000

    afa2000 Time to die

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Yes ... dikes at archipelago are very, very, very overpowered.
     
  4. axident

    axident Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,066
  5. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    They really are, its so much fun. :D
     
  6. Spearthrower

    Spearthrower Thrower of spears

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Bangkok
    I dont think they are "overpowered" they are nice and powerful yes, but that's the beauty of civ - it's not "balanced" as each civ has an area it specialises in. The Dutch are industrial monsters on coastal and river maps, but they still need to a) Survive that long and b) Have lots of coastal and river cities :D
     

Share This Page