Canada Mod - Deluxe Edition

Discussion in 'Civ4 - New Civilizations' started by Wyz_sub10, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
    I think it's great - I hope you get lots of feedback. Once you're happy with it, it'll get put into the Canada mod...and something else. :)

    If you're looking for some music pieces, see if you can get any Glenn Gould tunes, or something more Canada-folksy.

    I strongly suggest checking out the soundtrack from the "Over Canada" DVD. I have the CD and I can rip you some samples if need be.
     
  2. Corvex

    Corvex Emperor of Canada

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    The Holy City of Winnipeg
    Some of that kind of uniquely Canadian "Franco-celtic" Quebecois folk music could be interesting.
     
  3. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
    Exactly what I had in mind!

    On the aforementioned soundtrack, there is a tune called "Pot Pourri" that would be perfect. Let me know if you want to give it a listen and see if we're on the same page.
     
  4. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I gotta give this a try. :goodjob:

    But I have to ask one question, and please forgive me for not slogging through >10 pages of posts for the answer:

    What's the difference between a "Custom Asset" versus a "Stand-Alone Mod"?
     
  5. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
    In your 'My Documents' folder you have a path as follows:

    My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization IV\Custom Assets

    Installing the mod there will override your normal game assets (where applicable) and will add Canada to the standard game.

    In your 'Program Files' folder you have a path as follows:

    Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization IV\Mods

    Installing the mod there (as per the instructions) will create a mod that has to be loaded from within the game by selected 'Advanced' and 'Load a mod'.

    Using this method, the standard game stays the same, but loading the Canada Mod will add Canada to the list of playable civs.

    Firaxis made some changes with a patch that makes the second option a much better one.
     
  6. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Was Hoping some of you would have some suggestions about the Selection/order wave files already.

    Selection is what the unit says when you click on it
    Order is what the unit says when you give it an order.

    One of my favourites is an Order ..."I'll get the Duct tape" (ya know like a Red Green influence.)

    Another Must have is a selection... "EH?" (I know we don't really say that but the rest of the world thinks we do. :) "

    HELP ME OUT!
    and I'll make them.
     
  7. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Who is the song done by... I'll give it a listen. (never mind I found it ...Barachois)

    By the way... I would prefer songs without lyrics so I may cut parts of the mp3 apart and try and make it as smooth on a loop as possible.

    The current music I have now is actually the theme to W5... anyone familiar with this?
    You may recognize the music as "Fools Overture" by Supertramp. It even has a war time speach in it performed by churchill. (my favourite part)
     
  8. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
    Check your PMs - great stuff!

    The Barachois tune...yeah, I understand the no lyrics thing, but I love the way this captures that "French Canadian fur trade" feel.
     
  9. King Solomon

    King Solomon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    a great song would be The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald by G
    Lightfoot
     
  10. R-A-N-M-A

    R-A-N-M-A Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Canookada.
    I will agree, the Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald is a great song, the only problem is, is that it is about an American boat. You should get some Guess Who, BTO, Rush or Steppenwolfe in there. Just stay away from anything new, errr and Lover Boy.
     
  11. Corvex

    Corvex Emperor of Canada

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    The Holy City of Winnipeg
    Actually, I think Edmund Fitzgerald (the music, without the lyrics), would, from a purely aesthetic viewpoint, be excellent music for dealing with the Canadians on the diplomacy screen.
     
  12. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Any thoughts of some stuff from "Delerium" ...(Vancouver) This I know for sure is Canadian.. Anyone really knowing this band could say they have a song for every Era. Right from Tribal to Gregorian chant through to the Future.
     
  13. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
    For the Diplo screen (which I would integrate into Civ gold near immediately) I think something "bouncy" would work best. Although I do like "Wreck" for other areas.

    Hmmm...I'm trying to think of something culturally "strong" for that - I keep coming back to Celtic-French mix, and I think some non-vocal parts of
    "Pot Pourri" would still work.

    Enigma, though, is great - I would love a non-vocal (well...portion with the native refrain) clip from "Return to Innocence."
     
  14. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada

    Hard time trying to find a part of the song where Lightfoot isn't singing long enough to cut it and have it looping over and over.
     
  15. merchantoftolbi

    merchantoftolbi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    When I try to open the file, it says the Zipped folder is either invalid or corrupted. How do I remedy this?
     
  16. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
    For some reason, the server truncates the file from time to time, so the file becomes corrupt. I'll look into it tonight. Try downloading again Monday and if you still get a problem, email me.
     
  17. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
  18. Pvtbones

    Pvtbones Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Oh noes! 1.61 borked the Canada civ :( just as I was about to get into a world war too! (persia's going down!)
     
  19. Williamub

    Williamub Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Pvtbones is having the same issues as me. The new patch has screwed the mod up a bit. One of the errors I get now is:

    XML error
    Tag:Tech_Communism in Info class was incorrect. Current XML File is :Units/Civ4UnitsInfos.xml

    I hope this can be fixed easily and quickly, I was having fun getting the Americans to beg for resources.
     
  20. Zeusius

    Zeusius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Wu Wu Canada as a playable nation! Pass the Molson eh...

    Civ specialty: dodging all major conflicts, and using our powerful neighbor as a shield.

    Civ unique Unit: angry hockey fan


    I love Canada
     

Share This Page