1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Cannot install downloaded mod?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by BLM3, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. BLM3

    BLM3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I followed the manual:

    Click the “Browse Mods” button to bring up the Mods Browser. This will list out all the mods you have previously downloaded and installed, and whether that mod is currently active. Click on the “Enabled” button to enable or disable a downloaded mod. Yes, you can have more than one mod at a time active!​

    I do not see the "Enabled" button nor can I see anything to Install the mod once I download it. I do see them in the MODS directory under My Games....just do not know how to install them!

    Any ideas? :cry:
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,840
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Welcome to CFC :).

    Are you talking about the demo or the full game?
     
  3. BLM3

    BLM3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    The full game. Could it be that I installed the s/w to my D drive not my C drive?
     
  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,840
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Moved to creation & customization.

    I have no idea what the problem could be, but hopefully someone with more experience (Dale, where are you?) can help here.
     
  5. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,042
  6. a1Basco

    a1Basco Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    I'm having the same problem, and I also have the game installed on a drive other than C.

    I can't play the true locations map you made =p
     
  7. gunnergoz

    gunnergoz Cat Herder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southern California
    Thank you Dale, you are the first person from any source to give me some info and hope on this problem, since I too cannot download mods (yours!) from the Steam server due to the "Bits" error message. 2K owes me a message reply but has yet to do so.
     
  8. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,632
    Location:
    France
    I've got the same bug, the mods can be downloaded, but are never shown in the installed tab.

    btw the maps can be manually installed in the maps folder using 7zip to extract them.
     
  9. kattana

    kattana Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    same thing here. can download successfully, but thats as far as i get. was trying to use the clock mod
     
  10. BLM3

    BLM3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    OK I uninstalled Steam/Civ5 and reinstalled on the C drive instead of the D drive. It is working now. There appears to be a bug on installing mods when the software is **not** installed on your C drive.
     
  11. Soduka

    Soduka Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Oh damn it, I have CiV installed on my D: drive and have the same problem. I can download the mod but nothing appears to "Install" it or continue. I hope this is fixed.
     
  12. a1Basco

    a1Basco Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    damn, my drive C is has like no space on it at all, I doubt I'd be able to fix up enough room.

    Guess I'll have to wait for a patch.
     
  13. kattana

    kattana Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    LOL so it seems the testers never bothered trying to install to anything other then the C drive, nor did anyone seem to have more then 1 monitor

    silly little bugs, IMO
     
  14. Kruelgor

    Kruelgor Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,165
    Location:
    The United States
    From what I'm seeing others say, yes that is your problem.
     
  15. gunnergoz

    gunnergoz Cat Herder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southern California
    Well, hold your horses mates...I do have it installed in the C drive, so that cannot be my particular issue. My problem is the "Bits error message" and that I cannot download mods at all. Hope 2K is indeed working on these issues...
     
  16. Soduka

    Soduka Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    That is indeed a completely different problem. I know 2K is aware of that. My problem is that I download the mod and then it completely disappears, it can't be installed or anything. I don't know if 2K knows about this one and so far it is almost certainly because they didn't make the game check on any other drive but C:\.
     
  17. Mauzor

    Mauzor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    This may have been posted elsewhere, but I was struggling with getting mods installed myself and stumbled upon a solution.

    If you installed civ5 on a different partition than your C:, you can still make the mods work.

    All you got to do is after you downloaded the mods online, get the program 7-zip. In the mod directory, just right click on the *.mod file, 7-zip, extract here. This should unpack the mod file and now they will appear in your mod list in the game.

    Install the mod, enable and have fun.
     
  18. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,158
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I have it installed on a different drive, and it's fine for me. There is the occasional mod (Corsica, Portugal) which doesn't show up when I click 'Install mods' or doesn't even make the option to install mods available.
     

Share This Page