1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't Edit Profile?

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by iamliberal, Jun 17, 2017.

  1. iamliberal

    iamliberal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Hi, I'm unsure where to post, sorry..

    I keep trying to edit my civfanatics profile since it's over a decade out of date, and it errors saying I need to put in a valid URL for my home page... but I don't have a homepage! Can't leave it blank, can't put in other webpages, what should I do?
    As a result of the error, won't let me edit and save things like my computer, gender, etc.
     
  2. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    24,617
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
    I edited your profile and removed some info that did not seem right. I suspect the old data did not transfer well with the changeover to xenForo. Please try again and let us know. Sorry for the inconvenience.
     
  3. iamliberal

    iamliberal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Hi Leif, thanks for the response. I just went to my profile and tried editing again, and got the error again when I clicked save. It didn't highlight the homepage, just said to fill in fields. All I tried to change was 1. I added my steam handle "liberalguy" and 2. clicked "male" for my gender. Neither change was saved. I'd like to update my computer too. It's not a big deal, just seems weird and worth problem solving.
     
  4. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    24,617
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
    Made those changes for you and they seem to have saved. Funny that I can change it and you cannot. :crazyeye:

    Will try to look into it some more. :please:
     
  5. iamliberal

    iamliberal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Thanks! It is strange, and just FYI I did try it on Firefox just in case there was a weird bug using safari. And I tried on my iPad and MacBook. All got same error.
     
  6. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,071
    Can you do it now? It might be related to a hang-over from vBulletin, and how xenforo treats old profiles.
     

Share This Page