1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't even get the game to install...

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by kande92, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. kande92

    kande92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    PC/ Sony Vaio desktop AND PC/Toshiba laptop... get 98% of the game installed then I get an error "Feature transfer error." The install stops and all windows close. Try to re-install and get the same error.

    Downloading new driver to replace the ATI driver.

    Any other suggestions?

    :(
     
  2. cgoggles

    cgoggles Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    I also have the problem, and haven't had success trying anything.
     
  3. kande92

    kande92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    "Feature Transfer error"
    Component: Civ4Component
    File: E:/data3.cab
    Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check)
     
  4. papachu37

    papachu37 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    I get close to the same problem. I get almost all the way installed and it just stops installing basicly left it go for like 3 hrs didn't get anywere.
     
  5. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    29,975
    Moderator Action: Hopefully you'll get better responses in tech support.

    Moved.
     
  6. adams_antics

    adams_antics Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    go to device manager and remove the cd rom drive and reboot. otherwise it might be a bad cd or cd-rom.
     
  7. kande92

    kande92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Went back to store and got a new CD-rom... not the "special edition" and it worked fine.
     

Share This Page