1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't remove borders in worldbuilder

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by civguy1026, May 2, 2018.

  1. civguy1026

    civguy1026 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Pretty much what the title says. I was toying around in worldbuilder and put a command center on one of the unclaimed tiles. I ended up removing it after after a turn or so but now it seems I have a permanent 3x3 border where the command center once was. Going back to worldbuilder I see there is both the option to remove the borders entirely or replace them with another nations borders. I have done both and after I end my turn the changes revert back to the 3x3 borders of mine even though there are no units or improvements inside. Is there a quick fix to this that I am missing? I just re-downloaded this mod the other day so everything should be up to date
     
  2. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Known bug. With all fortifications. Happens in game if the fortification is removed by player. There is something wrong with the Super Fort mod or its merge. It looks like the only case considered is the capture of the fortification not its destruction or removal. It is a useful player cheat as barbarians etc wont attack the plots if there is no fortification giving you a safe-ish haven to heal your units.
     
  3. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    These are my notes on a fix. Does this
    1. cover everything
    2. process it correctly?
    Bug Description

    If you raze a fortification in the wilderness it does not "unclaim" the plot(s) that the fort claimed. This leaves areas owned which should not be owned.

    This is mostly an exploit used by players. It gives them territory in the wilderness which they can improve to get resources with there being no way for anyone to take the plots back. They can also be used as havens to reduce costs and heal units faster.

    Background

    Player cultural level in a plot determines who own the plot.

    There are basically two types of fortifications that need to be addressed
    • those that only claim the plot they are on eg palisades and watchtowers
    • those that claim the plot they are on and the 8 plots around it.
    In general the only people who can destroy a fortification are
    • the current owner by using one of their combat units to raze it or use a worker to replace it with another improvement, and
    • a black ops (including criminal) unit from another player.
    In both cases we want the same thing to happen.

    If the fortification is being replaced by another fortification then do nothing. Otherwise the effect is the same as if the fort is razed.​

    Design (structured English sort of)
    "Function"
    Reset Ownership ( plot to reset, list of neighbouring plots to examine)
    Find the maximum player culture in the neighbouring plots
    Set the player culture in plot to reset to this value
    On Improvement Destroyed a Python "event"
    If improvement was a fortification
    If replacement improvement is not a fortification

    For single plot fortifications:-
    Reset Ownership (fort plot, 8 plots around it)
    For other fortifications:-
    For each of the 8 outside plots
    Reset Ownership (for plot, 3 plots outside fortification borders next to this plot​
    Reset Ownership (fort plot, 8 plots around it)​
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2018
  4. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,741
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm not really following this too well but all in all I don't follow the details of the bug all that well to begin with.
     
  5. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Added a bug description;)
     
  6. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,741
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Resetting ownership would mean looking for whichever nation has the highest amount of culture in those plots, right? Well this would just give you the same result then unless you removed all ownership on those plots from that nation, which could result in very odd gaps deep in the nation's interior for a few rounds until cities recaptured the territory. One might need to track how much culture the fort added to those plots so that this amount could be removed specifically.
     
  7. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Oops. Using my suggested Resseting Ownership code
    1. Only affects the player.
    2. Makes their contribution to the ownership of the plot no greater than any plot near it.

      Oops I typed minimum instead of maximum in the above code - good catch. This is what doing this in the design phase is all about. Fixing problems before they happen.
    The up shot is that if the player owns any neighbouring plot they will retain the plot.

    The only place there is likely to be a problem is when two or more nations border a plot. If you can describe a better solution for that case I am all ears.
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,741
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Generally plots are assigned ownership by who has the most culture on that plot and its only when there's no culture by anyone on a plot that there is no ownership. There is also something in the original method about the plot having to be within a city's range, which is a little different than just having culture on that plot. When two or more nations border a plot, I don't see an issue there if you are establishing, not ownership per se, but rather are manipulating the amount of culture value on that plot. #2 is an interesting solution: Makes their culture remaining on the plot no greater than the strongest amount of a neighboring plot they own. >That's basically the way I could see it working entirely, check all adjacent plots and set it to the plot with the most culture you have. The only thing is you'd want to as a first step take away all culture in the plots at and around the fort as a start, then reset based on that evaluation each one, without allowing them to look at the culture of one of the plots that's under evaluation for the purposes of this check (otherwise plot 1 may have just gotten an assigned amount of culture and plot 2 only gets that much because plot 1 just got assigned it.)

    I think that's all you'd need to do... but I can't say that for sure. There may be another function to run afterwards to tell the plots to now figure out who owns them based on the amount of culture they have.
     
  9. BlueGenie

    BlueGenie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563
    Or set Culture as a Property that has a minimum Decay Rate of at least 1 so if not pushing Culture by other means a razed fortification that gave a small amount of Culture will revert to having no Culture in again in a little time.
    That way we can also stop worrying about reaching ridiculous mounts of Culture in a city and a City needs to keep having high output of Culture to maintain Levels needed for certain things. Mostly cities would not drop in Culture Levels as Culture output tends to rise, not drop, except for buildings going Obsolete. I would not mind that though as in different ages, Eras, cities can become more or less know
    Culture taken over by Combat also suddenly becomes a commodity needed to be used soon and not there to use to quickly expand a New City's Culture two Eras later when using Realist Culture Spread, and for when not being able to take over the area the Culture reverts to the one with a Culture output in the area.

    That's how I'd solve it, though I know it would need a lot of redoing on the Culture Levels to have them match a Property discourse, but I think the Culture Levels would need overhauling anyway as one reaches Legendary way to quickly as it is now, in my opinion.
     
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,741
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Interesting concept but the property system would need a number of adjustments to enable player vs player property types. We need that for morale as well.
     

Share This Page