Can't shake regular CTDs (in Vanilla or BTS)

KevinTMC

Utopian
I've recently started playing Civ again, and have found that neither the latest patches nor moving to BTS is alleviating my old friend, the crash to desktop problem, which is quite rare in the BCs but gets more common as the game goes along, to the point where it can happen every three to seven turns by 2000 AD. (And that is on Normal size worlds.)

After having tried most every suggestion I've run across on this forum (mostly involving tinkering with the .ini file), and failing to eliminate the crashes, I'd pretty much resigned myself to living with it.

Except that the latest minor Gauntlet over at the HOF attracted me, and I started playing it. It is a Marathon level game, so it took hundreds of turns to even reach AD. I got as far as 210 AD before experiencing my first crash...and the HOF rules are strict, they only allow one crash in a game for it to be accepted. I continued playing, for hours more, sadly expecting to have an invalid submission for all my effort...the second crash took a while to come, but it happened at 1270 AD. Crashes at 1300 and 1305 soon followed...then it left me alone for almost a century, until it just crashed again at 1402.

The crashes almost always come when: a) a unit of mine is trying to move on the map, or b) the map view is trying to move so it can center on my next unit due to move. I get a few seconds' pause, during which the screen freezes but the music continues playing; and then the Windows XP "this application has had a problem and must close now" message. This latest game, it is happening in BTS...but the problem is to me indistinguishable from the CTDs I always experienced before in Vanilla, so I doubt it's anything specifically to do with the expansion.

Might anyone here be able to help me?