1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't start revolution

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Strategy & Tips' started by jsab500, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. jsab500

    jsab500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Am i missing something that is required to start a revolution? As far as i'm aware, it's 50% rebel sentiment in each city, and 50% overall on the bar on the revolution screen.

    I've only played four or five games. I could do it in the first one which was the first scenario. I wanted to try to win a huge game by conquest, so i unticked independence victory on a custom game. I've tried twice (the second time just getting to 50% as soon as possible to test), and neither time could i press the "start revolution" button. It stayed greyed out.

    Could this be a bug or am i missing something obvious?
     
  2. Karhgath

    Karhgath Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    I'm guessing that since you unticked "Independance Victory", you cannot declare independance :)
     
  3. jsab500

    jsab500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Well that should just mean the game doesn't end when you achieve independence, not that independence shouldn't be possible as it's the main thing in the game.

    Any..... slighlty more..... sensible answers?
     
  4. Icevulture

    Icevulture Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Hamilton, ON
    I'm a little confused by the independence declaration part of the game too, but for a slightly different reason.

    I have 4 colonies set up, and their independence support percentages are as follows:

    Colony 1: 72% (My capital/biggest colony)
    Colony 2: 78%
    Colony 3: 84%
    Colony 4: 100%

    The revolution adviser is telling me that only 44% of my colonists support a revolution and it doesn't allow me to declare independence. Why? I don't understand how only 44% support it when my lowest colony is at 72%.

    Is this a known bug? I'm hoping this is one of the many bugs I've stumbled across that will be taken care of in a patch.
     
  5. jsab500

    jsab500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    I'm guessing that the number on the overall slider includes units that aren't in the settlements.
     
  6. skallben

    skallben Holy Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    Rebel sentiment won't effect people not working in cities, which in my eyes is a huge flaw. One possible solution could be to stockpile weapons and food to quickly pump out soldiers after independence declaration but that would lower your rebel sentiment after declaring.
     
  7. Tennyson

    Tennyson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    But your aggregate rebel sentiment after declaring isn't important. And when you take half a city's population and turn them into Dragoons, the 50% rebel sentiment jumps to 100% for that city.

    I really, really, really wish colonists who aren't in settlements weren't counted against the overall sentiment, though.
     
  8. jsab500

    jsab500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Couldn't just ask to bring the thread back to my original question could i? Has any one else tried what i did?
     
  9. pvt chaos

    pvt chaos Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Yes, had the same sort of game where I unchecked the Independence victory and also was not able to declare independence. So it seems like a result of unchecking the victory condition.
     
  10. jsab500

    jsab500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Ok thanks. Then it's either a bug or the world's gone completely insane (maybe a slight overreaction)
     
  11. jsab500

    jsab500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Yeah you're right, i've just done the exact same thing, getting to 50% as soon as possible, but with independence victory ticked. I could start the revolution. That's pretty ridiculous.

    (My army of elder statesmen was killed rather easily too)
     
  12. skallben

    skallben Holy Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    It is important because you get a combat bonus for each percent above 50%.
     
  13. rbadger

    rbadger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I'm confused why you think this is a bug... You unchecked declaring independence as a victory condition, so it doesn't let you. Seems pretty clear cut to me.
     
  14. JOHNMAN

    JOHNMAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    30

    What he said...


    However I understand your frustration jsab500 since you don't get a combat bonus.
     
  15. jsab500

    jsab500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    It's hard not to get angry when people say such things. Which is why i'm angry. Read my second post.
     
  16. rbadger

    rbadger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    So you want all the benefits of declaring independence but not have to deal with the pesky REF? You're questioning why this isn't allowed and wondering out loud if it's a bug? Really?
     
  17. Sarmatian

    Sarmatian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    I guess he wants to declare independence, fight it out with the King and not have "game over"...
     
  18. marciv

    marciv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    The Midlands UK.
    Well.....how were you hoping to eventually win a game as an invasion of the homeland is not possible. I don't believe that the tick box option should be available for independence as you have already pointed out that this is an integral part of the game. I don't think that this game is geared up for a Civ type domination or conquest type victory. It is wholly reliant on the succesful declaration of independence as far as I understand it.
     
  19. Sarmatian

    Sarmatian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    On a related note, what does "Europe victory" mean? I've seen it in custom game menu?
     
  20. Hammurbabble

    Hammurbabble Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    It's a perfectly sensible answer. This is no different from a custom game in CivIV when you uncheck diplomatic victory or space race, and can't build the UN or the Apollo Program. It's like that in all Meier games, if you disable a victory condition, you can't do the things that would bring on that victory if you had it checked. (Except I suppose eliminating opponents for conquest.)

    I personally leave Independence as the ONLY victory condition checked. That way, you don't have any time limit and can declare independence at leisure.

    I also think it might be cool if a future patch had other victory conditions. You should be able to win victory as a loyalist, by building a really big empire, or eliminating all European rivals, or wiping out X% of native settlements/native nations, or whatever. It might be interesting if you could choose whether your Statesmen generated Liberty Bells (towards independence) or Loyalty Bells (same other effects but no increase in rebel sentiment). Of course, to make this work they would have to balance the European AI as well -- right now the natives can be pretty formidable but the Europeans are pushovers.
     

Share This Page