1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Captcha - not working.. can't reset password

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by BrotherInJah, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. BrotherInJah

    BrotherInJah 60% of the time works every time

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Location, location, location..
    Hi,

    As you see i managed to recall my password finally, but when i was trying to reset it instead of usual captcha picture there was some expire date set on 2018-03-31, no mp3 to listen also. I guess you have to check that.

    Cheers!

    BIJ
     
  2. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,402
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. How are you resetting your password? When I click on my username near the top right side of a page and select Password, I don't get a captcha option.
     
  3. BrotherInJah

    BrotherInJah 60% of the time works every time

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Location, location, location..
    when you forgot your password before login in on forum you can reset it and send to you email.. that's where you should put text from captcha.
     
  4. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,402
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I'm afraid that I can't reproduce this problem. As far as I can tell, we only use captcha when someone registers for the forum. It would be a major security breach if a Guest could reset anyone's password just by going through captcha. I'm probably misunderstanding your question. Please describe the exact steps you are taking. Thanks.
     
  5. BrotherInJah

    BrotherInJah 60% of the time works every time

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Location, location, location..
    i'm talking about situation where you don't remember password. Then you have option to reset it by providing your email, where msg will be send with a link to reset the password. But sites like this one, to prevent bots from blocking the site by spamming such requests usually are making use of tool such as captcha. An there's this captcha that is not working.
     
  6. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,402
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I finally was able to reproduce the problem. Using IE, I get the shutdown message that you mentioned. Using Firefox the captcha window is blank. However, on my iPhone captcha appears to work as expected.

    After researching the shutdown message, it seems that Google is shutting down version 1 of their captcha utility ("reCAPTCHA"). We need to upgrade to version 2. I'll alert Thunderfall to the issue. Thanks again for pointing out this problem.
     
  7. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,159
    Gender:
    Male
    This is fixed now.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop