Capture City

Roi Danton

Chieftain
Hi,

I'm playing civ IV for some time now but I think I'm still a noob.
I'm trying to find out how the game works but I really don't understand how can I influence other city's to join me?
I set up a very easy game and advancing very fast to the future age.
My ai players were ages behind me with arrows.
But now, nearly any of my border cities is asking me if they could join the other side.
All players on my continent are a vassal of me.
Why want these cities the other side??
I've an ai city direct at my border since the very beginning but there are on 39% members of my folk in it. What do I need to do to influence the ai cities that they want to join me??

I hope you can help me!

Thanks for your answers.

Roi Danton!

Build up your culture on your border cities, and send troops there as well to maintain order.

There are at least 20 units in every city. There is no revolt in the city.
And the city's are only producing culture since there are no buildings left to build and I had researched everything.

I am puzzled by this. I expect captured cities to ask to return, but some of my own cities want to switch. Running top culture with libraries and theaters in every city, universities in most. I have no revolts, just the request.
But what really puzzles me, when I explore and found new cities in new lands, they seem always to want to switch to some other culture on the very next turn. Makes me think of the line in "The Thin Red Line", 'My wife left me for anyone else.'

I am puzzled by this. I expect captured cities to ask to return, but some of my own cities want to switch. Running top culture with libraries and theaters in every city, universities in most. I have no revolts, just the request.
But what really puzzles me, when I explore and found new cities in new lands, they seem always to want to switch to some other culture on the very next turn. Makes me think of the line in "The Thin Red Line", 'My wife left me for anyone else.'