Captured Holy City: Can HC status be wiped out?

Barking Iguana

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
73
Location
Kendall Park (South Brunswick), NJ
If I send an inquisitor, I read a while ago, that it removes holy city status (20 internal pressure) from the city. But I also see on old threads that that's not true. What's the actual state of the rules these days?

If it works with an inquisitor, will it also wirk with a Great Prophet? Again, from a while ago. I thought I remembered that wiping out HC stat us is one thing an inquisitor can do that a GP can't. What's the real story?
 

Tombaugh

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
35
I thought I remembered that wiping out HC stat us is one thing an inquisitor can do that a GP can't.
think this is correct
 

aafritz17

Moderator
Moderator
Hall of Fame Staff
GOTM Staff
Supporter
Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
664
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Doesn't an inquisitor only work in a "controlled city" (or words to that effect)? I think this means, for example, one couldn't remove an enemy's religion from their own Holy City, unless you capture/control it (as the OP states).
 

Browd

Dilettante
Administrator
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
11,980
Location
Rural Vermont
That is correct. The only way to remove another city's Holy City status is to conquer the Holy City and then zap it with an inquisitor. The only circumstance where that does not work is if the Holy City's religion has the Reformation belief Unity of the Prophets (which reduces the effects of inquisitors and Great Prophets of other religions).
 

Bretwalda

Warlord
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
255
Location
Budapest
Conquer the enemy holy city. Bring an inquisitor to the city. Use the inquisitor's ability (the unit is consumed). Holy City: gone (I never saw the above mentioned Unity of Prophets belief in AI civ). That religion has to be eliminated in every other city as well, but removing the holy city and its religious pressure helps a lot.
 
Top Bottom