1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Caveman 2 Cosmos (ideas/discussions thread)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by strategyonly, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Location:
    Poland
    I suspect more things in core could be moved to alt timelines.
    I could turn off that module and see what errors popup.
     
  2. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,062
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    So now a mammoth rider will cost twice as much as before? UGH! :p:cringe:
     
  3. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Location:
    Poland
    Mammoth Rider price is unchanged, but you can now build only Neanderthal version of it, if you have Neanderthal culture.
    This was case for all other Neanderthal units - I guess this one slipped out.

    And yeah, Neanderthal one is 2x more expensive, but has one point more of strength.
     
  4. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,062
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Mammoths are such slippery creatures. Like a greased pig at the Fair. :mischief::lol:
     
    Thunderbrd and raxo2222 like this.
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,587
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I just had a crazy image of the Greased Mammoth Chasing event...

    GET HIM OOG!
     
    raxo2222 and JosEPh_II like this.
  6. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    raxo,, when u replaced the Confederacy and the western leaderheads, where r the dds files?? well actually for all the Custom Civs and flags??
     
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Location:
    Poland
    They all were merged into FPKs just before V39 released.
    That is all art files except from my mods (unloaded) are now in FPKs.
     
  8. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    TB did u agree to this, module art and files belong in the modules file ONLY, correct . . .
     
  9. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Location:
    Poland
    @Thunderbrd agreed with this.
     
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,587
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    All art files should be in FPKs if possible. The massive amount of art files not in FPKs due to module use really was making loading times much slower and the mod content higher. Now, that said, one CAN create a unique file path in the art folder that equates to a sort of modular filepath if you want them isolated for ease of relating to them from the module - that step was not taken during the conversion however.
     
    Anq likes this.
  11. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    ok then, but if i am looking for the one that has terrain in it, which one does that?? i am not going thru all these FPK, looking for one item, or a new item inplace of another item, makes no sense. need some kind of way to know whee these items are??
     
  12. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,843
    Location:
    Norway
    Click on this bat file here:
    \Caveman2Cosmos\Tools\UnpackFPKs.bat​
    and all FPK's gets unpacked for you automatically into this folder:
    \Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\unpacked.
    You could then copy all the art over to another directory for you to look through whenever you want.
     
  13. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,587
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Within the Unpacked folder, there IS some file directory organization. Could be better but it should make finding specific stuff at least a little easier (and you can always search for likely file names under any given folder structure with windows explorer.) Furthermore, you can look at the XML entry calling for that art and go directly there as long as you understand that whole Art/... reference begins at \Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\unpacked
     
  14. Wrecker014

    Wrecker014 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    I've noted in the most recent SVN release that, in the Civilopedia, if one is to hover over select sub combat types for units, a message appears that such a type is "Not Available to Units without the C2C Combat Mod - Arms and Equipment Game Option being active." Does such an option exist, or is it merely a placeholder for now? I can't find it in the custom game screen options, so I'm assuming the latter, but I'm just curious.
     
  15. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,843
    Location:
    Norway
    It exist, but it is deactivated and hidden because it is a work in progress that is not ready to be played yet.
     
  16. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    dont understand any of this new stuff??????
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2019
  17. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,843
    Location:
    Norway
    The fur animals requires forest, ancient forest, swamp, or flood plains to be placed on plains, grass, lush, muddy or marsh. They can be placed on Taiga, Tundra, Permafrost and Snow regardless of what feature may be present or not.
    I can see some flood plains there that should be valid spots, unless there's already bonuses on those plots.
     
  18. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    thought i tried that . . see retry, nothing works?? actually tried all over the map, nothing / / /

    and what is this once i quit C2C, and then tried to start back up, it took 3 minutes to even get the first loading sequence??
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,843
    Location:
    Norway
    That is strange, I'll look into it.
    Did you use the UnpackFPKs.bat without moving all the loose art files out of your mod folder? BtS indexes all those art files if they are inside the mod folder that you play from.

    @billw2015: I think we need to change the output directory of the FPK unpacking script to documents/My Games/Beyond the sword/

    So that players don't accidentally increase their loading time a lot after trying some of the script and not understanding what they do.
     
  20. armenia4ever

    armenia4ever Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Just wanted to thank all of you modders and crew who keep putting work into this mod and updating. I keep coming back to this mod over time.
     
    JosEPh_II likes this.

Share This Page