1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Caveman 2 Cosmos (ideas/discussions thread)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by strategyonly, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    When you start a game, how important is your starting point? I personally regenerate if I don't have a river nearby. I sometimes restart if by gathering and scavenging I have no resources in my city vicinity. What's the bare minimum you'll "take"? I started a deity game last night, quit when I realized I had no resources (and only desert and no flood plains in initial borders).
     
  2. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,740
    Location:
    Brisbane
    With respect, there is no kudos available for pretending to be a Deity player. Drop down to your real level of Monarch or Emperor. And play the map you're dealt...:old:
     
  3. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Well, I just "finished" an emperor game (MAF errors every few turns) that I had snowballed in (check single play bugs/crashes for the save file... I'm at work on my phone, so I can't upload it). I figured I would go on deity to up the difficulty...

    I figured I'd run into a purist, but personally I feel like knowing when to regenerate and when to keep your map is part of the game...
     
  4. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,844
    Location:
    Norway
    I take the starting point I'm dealt 99% of the time; it is not very important unless you start on a small island isolated from other landmass by sea/ocean; or if you start a place where all you can see is permafrost/barren and peaks even after 2 turns of moving the settler.

    Getting the worst starting location of the X best locations picked for the X amount of starting players is part of being on the highest difficulty among all the players; it's a handicap factor used in the code I mean.
    Each plot has a starting plot suitability score (based on yield + bonuses and a river, coast and hill factor, within the fat cross of the plot) and the algorithm tries to pick a set where it maintains a good distance between all the starting plot as well as maximizing the total score of the set chosen. Then the plots, from high to low score, are given out to players from low to high difficulty.
     
    VCrakeV likes this.
  5. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    That explains why I always get bad starts on higher difficulties... if its coded into difficulty, I will be starting a deity game, and only restarting if I'm isolated (that 1% of the time you're referring to).
     
    Toffer90 likes this.
  6. MattCA

    MattCA Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    I got a crash that came from a groupCycleNode. Just before that I got a FAssert about a CvSelectionGroup.
    The code around where the crash happened is already full of extra debug stuff. The exact spot was actually some code that is only in _DEBUG dll. I think because I was using debug dll, the bad CvSelectionGroup that was detected got deleted but the groupCycleNode it was in did not. I'm not 100% sure.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  7. ecawilson

    ecawilson Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Indiana, GMT-4
    Careful there... there are in fact kudos for rerolling to get certain starting location traits. The most creative and effective and respected civ4 players on Civfanatics use a tool called MapFinder (http://hof.civfanatics.net/civ4/mod.php?show=mapfinder) in some of their efforts. Now, I haven't ever used it, isn't fun for me, but if someone wanted to try out a certain strategy or game experience (frozen north, desert oasis, mountainous, etc.), or try to see how quickly they can overflow the economy, or whatever, the tool can make sense even in C2C. To the point, though, much of the continuing popularity of Civfanatics (and its kudos) can be traced back to Diety+ level players using this tool, which basically reloads the map if it doesn't have certain resources.
    That said, thus far in my Nightmare Eternity games I have played, there doesn't seem to be much benefit to my play style to settle in place, and wandering for the first 20+ turns before settling seems to create an advantage, so I don't regenerate at all, except alone on a small island (don't want that game experience right now).
    In other words, in spirit, I agree with Yudishtira. But nobody, even Yudishtira, will tell you that you shouldn't play how you want. Have fun!
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2020
    VCrakeV likes this.
  8. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,740
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm well aware that using all sorts of exploits and cheats can get you "kudos" in vanilla Civ4, when you then pretend to be a Deity-level player. I have nothing positive to say about that sort of thing, so don't get me started on it... I don't expect I will ever play vanilla or BtS again. They are deeply flawed games with negligible replayability which compare unfavourably to eg. some of the Total War series, Age of Wonders III, and a few others. As well as to C2C and the enhanced Fall from Heaven family of mods (RifE, EitB, MoM, etc.).

    I suppose for Hall of Fame competition, using a map finder makes sense. Although Hall of Fame competition in general makes less sense as a result.

    I gave my opinion when it was asked for. It's one I hold strongly, and stated (moderately) emphatically. I hope it's persuasive, but it was not intended to control anyone or countermand anything.:lol:
     
    VCrakeV and ecawilson like this.
  9. GreatLordofPie

    GreatLordofPie Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    @Toffer90 How feasible would a WB function that improves all resources under certain conditions be (does it have a route, do techs allow it to be harvested, etc)?
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2020
  10. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,844
    Location:
    Norway
    Quite feasible, I'll add it to my toDo list.

    How I understand your suggestion:
    All resources within owned borders get improved if plot owner has unlocked improvement that can harvest the resource, and then the best unlocked route is built from that resource to nearest city.
    I could make it player specific with an additional option to toggle it for all players.
     
    GreatLordofPie likes this.
  11. GreatLordofPie

    GreatLordofPie Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    Pretty much, the only thing I have to counter is that it's probably not necessary to connect it to nearby cities since it's not that tedious doing routes by hand (compared to improvements at least lol) plus a less complicated code.
     
    Toffer90 likes this.
  12. Kell Red

    Kell Red Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Starting a new game on the latest SVN and somehow I did not notice this until now.
    Custom Game > Options > No Random Events: "No Random Events will Occur. Events are currently unsupported - may be buggy and unbalanced."
    Events are my favorite mechanic when playing a single player campaign in Strategy and Role Playing games. Please revamp/fix by v42 I don't know if I can play anymore while knowing this. :sad:

    EDIT: Remember reading somewhere about adding 'native populations' feature for people who play in 'start in old world' maps. ETA on that?
     
  13. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,556
    Location:
    Poland
    If you played with events before, you can still play with them.
    Just know, that they are unsupported - situation with events is unchanged for several years.

    Also that native populations thing never was done, maybe it was abandoned.
     
  14. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,844
    Location:
    Norway
    The Revolutions mod component has always had a native population mechanic that can even be configured a bit in the BUG settings. That barb cities in the new world won't turn into a regular civ before A: an old world player land a unit on the new world B an old world player settle a city on the new world, and C: an old world unit discovers the new world (map reveal of new world land), then there's options about tech level and military strength that affect the new players created from barbs in the new world that only applies for the new world barbarians.

    In my experience that new world native uprising feature has been working pretty well all along.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  15. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,595
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Events are generally fine unless you're playing on Multiplayer games. They aren't incredibly balanced appropriately at times but that's not unique in this mod.
     
  16. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,556
    Location:
    Poland
    I was thinking about Indigenous Community improvement here - it is affected by Education tech in medieval era.
    Nothing happened with it forever.

    Its seems to be placeholder - nothing can place it but its referenced by Extra Diplomacy module.
     
  17. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,844
    Location:
    Norway
    Oh yeah, that, I have no idea what was intended for it.
     
  18. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,062
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    It was part of one of DH's projects. Not sure if it was meant for the Nomad start as it was a precursor to the Nomad idea getting started. Hope I'm making sense to you all.
     
  19. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,595
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Oh right... that! It was pretty cool even as it was - it came up in response to revealing a goody hut and was intended for later use with diplomat units. You would be able to take those units to that location and do things to 'negotiate' with barbarians, like buy mercenaries from them and so on.
     
  20. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    On the note of new world natives, I find a great option is to just turn on barbarian world and the option that allows barbs to become minor civilizations. By the time they become even minor civs, they are well behind. In my recent game that I uploaded in the bugs and crashes section (I had to abandon it due to some memory leak error), the new world had several minor civs, and major civs that hadn't even developed bronze working (IIRC).
     

Share This Page