1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Changing Trade Routes?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by crazyjoe0813, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. crazyjoe0813

    crazyjoe0813 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Winter Springs, FL
    Is it possible to change a trade route once it has been established?
     
  2. BluegrassGeek

    BluegrassGeek Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Nope. It lasts for 30 turns, cannot be cancelled.
     
  3. crazyjoe0813

    crazyjoe0813 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Winter Springs, FL
    Once those 30 turns are up can they be changed?
     
  4. BobDole

    BobDole American Leader in Civ VI

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Yes, you'll go back to the trade route sidebar after those 30 turns to assign your caravan/cargo ship again.
     
  5. Calouste

    Calouste Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,725
    I think there are three scenarios where a trade route doesn't last the full 30 turns:
    1) When war is declared between the two civs.
    2) When the trade unit is captured by a third party (usually barbs)
    3) When Venice or Austria is trading with a city state and buy/marry that city state.
     
  6. WhenDragonsFly

    WhenDragonsFly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    not quite true, yes the route is broken if both civs are at war, but the route is also broken if just one civ is at war with another civ and the city, the route is connected to, is destroyed.
     
  7. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,228
    Gender:
    Male
    However, other trade routes with others at peace won't get destroyed.
     
  8. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,635
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    In general when the target city change ownership the trade routes to that city are reset.
     
  9. dasaard200

    dasaard200 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    303
    TRs exist from city-of-origin to destination and back; usually lasting 30 turns, AND also when they "age out", they can be reassigned to new cities-of-origin . Cargo ships to ports, caravans to land cities; and what they carry (food, hammers) is up to player's choice .

    City "A" can ONLY send 1 TR to a target city, say city "B"; but cities "C-Z" can EACH send 1 TR to city "B" . City "B" can RECIEVE as many TRs as are in range to trade !


    If city "L" has 5 TRs as city-of-origin, OUTGOING TRs could be sent to cities "H, D, A, J, and E" . Thus you could target an in-range city of Bozo's with a few TRs, passively spread your religion, and make tons of cash doing so ! Sneaky, nasty, effective .
     
  10. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2 Destroys the trade unit.

    #1 causes auto-pillaging of all routes between these civs. (The trade units are destroyed)

    Neither of these are desirable just to change destination cities early.

    #3 Yup, unlike the above this keeps the trade unit intact.

    Yes, a 3rd party conquering a city you have a destination with would also reset the route(s) for instant reassignment.
     
  11. lunfa_reo

    lunfa_reo Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina (GMT -3)
    I was about to ask about this. In my current game I had several trade routes to a Civ, which declared war on me. I knew my trade routes were cancelled, but at the beginning of my turn I went looking for my caravans and they were gone. Now I know they all get destroyed when the target Civ declares war on me.

    However, if those TRs are "auto-pillaged", does that mean the Civ receiving the TRs and declaring war gets the gold from plundering the TRs?
     
  12. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,635
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    No, you don't get gold for auto destroyed routes after a DoW.
     
  13. bayard sartoris

    bayard sartoris Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    You can also reasign your trade routes if the cities you were sending them are now embargoed
     
  14. lunfa_reo

    lunfa_reo Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina (GMT -3)
    Thank goodness :) I had 4 TRs going from my cities to the Civ that DOWed me.
     
  15. Aenthin

    Aenthin Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    4) The aformentioned embargo

    Also, from the last game I had:

    5) If the city you're trading with is captured by a third party (and then razed)

    I am unsure if the cause was the capture or the razing. In any case, the trade unit was sent back to its home city.

    No one gets the gold. The trade units just disappear.
     
  16. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    It was from the capture that it got reset.
    But if you had post capture set it to go to a city being razed, you'd probably have gotten the route back when the raze was complete as well. (I do note though that with the major population cut and building loses following capture, it's highly unlikely to be a good city to continue trading with post capture)
     
  17. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,820
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    The DOWing civ does not get the gold automatically, but it does have their turn to catch and pillage trade units. I have done that a (very) few times to the AI, and I can only assume that the AI is better at this particular technique than I am! To be honest though, they might have been trade units going through my lands, and not necessarily trades going to my cities.

    Having to rebuild the trade units I find to be harsh enough penalty on its own. I had assumed the AI was getting gold off me as well. But that is minor insult after major injury. The gold does not cost the player, and the AIs are already rich. So what more does it matter? But as a rule of thumb, I spread my trade routes out -- even though that means less net gold.
     
  18. Tatran

    Tatran Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,184
    Also, keep an eye on the leader who is allied with alot of city-states.
    The more trade routes you have with one AI early in the game, the more likely they will dow you out of the blue.
     
  19. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Hmm that could be true sometimes particularly if you have very little power and aren't getting along really well with the rest of the civilizations.
     
  20. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    It is indeed a very good idea to consider your diplomatic relations.
    And where the route would be.

    (e.g. if relations with civ B are terrible (but still at peace), and excellent with Civ C, but the trade route would go thru Civ B's territory, it's a risky trade route.)
     

Share This Page