Chieftain to Warlord???

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Stories & Tales' started by pi4t, Jun 8, 2010.

1. pi4t

pi4t Warlord

:hide::scared::faint:

I've been playing civ 3 for several years, but have almost never played on anything but Chieftain. Recently, I decided to change that. My first Warlord game gave me no fresh water, and no hope of any thanks to a line of hills :mad:. I decided that before going back to that game, I'd start a new game, giving myself rules that should help dispose of some of the mistakes I often make, and posting the game on the forum for comment on my strategies.

The 'varient' rules:

Any victory condition is acceptable, but I would like to get a space race, because I've never seen that victory.

Comments on my strategies during the game are encouraged.

Reviews of the rules welcome!

EDIT: Here are the new rules, for easy viewing.

SETTINGS:

Standard sized map, continents 70% water, other settings random. Default rules, but with respawn AI switched off. Opponents random. Difficulty:have a guess ;)

2. barbslinger

barbslinger Gun blast'n shot drinker

To accomplish this you will need to first set a settler factory that can turn out a settler every 4 turns. It will take around 20-25 turns just to set it up so depending on terrain I doubt you will get 20 settlers in 100 turns.

3. Aabraxan

Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

First of all, good luck, pi4t!

About those rules . . .

Traits -- Honestly, the Japanese are one of the least favorite civs to play. If you're looking to move up a level, perhaps you should consider using one of your go-to civs?

Settlers -- I agree with barbslinger that it'll be difficult to manage 20 settlers in 100 turns. You'll have to have a good settler factory, and that'll take a while to set up. If you do happen to get a 4-turn SF set up, you'll need to peel settlers off from other cities to pull off 20 settlers by turn 100.