1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Chieftan-Warlord

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by NinjaSeeker, Jul 10, 2009.

1. NinjaSeeker

NinjaSeeker Chieftain

So, I recently started playing and I found Chieftan difficulty to be insultingly easy. There were games where I managed to get two ages ahead of my opponents, and was lining up nukes to blanket the earth.

Now, I tried warlord, and I am stumped.

Or, should I say, I can't stand to see anyone ahead of me in scientific terms. Is this a problem? Should I not mind as much? (PS: I play almost exclusively as China, it's hard to get used to anyone else.)

2. Snarkhunter

Snarkhunter Prince

More info would be nice, the ultimate being a posted save of a situation giving you grief. Do you mean that you are not winning at warlord, or do you mean something else? I would say that you shouldn't mind very much if the AI is temporarily ahead of you, but if you can't keep up in the MA or worse, the IA, there's probably something amiss with your empire management style, your use of the slider, or the techs you research on the tree. If nothing else, you should be able to trade your way to tech parity or even dominance. Although that phase doesn't last very long at warlord.

kk

3. undertoad

undertoad Warlord

Snap - I get uncomfortable falling behing in the tech race as well.

If you like playing in a "ahead on techs" style, have you considered going for a Commercial and/or Scientific civ? I like playing Greeks for this reason (they're both).