1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Choosing map?

Discussion in 'CivRev - Strategy & Tips' started by Barry Bonds, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. Barry Bonds

    Barry Bonds The Heretic Anthem

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Can I choose which map I want to play on or how many people I want to play against, or no?
     
  2. NcNikke

    NcNikke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Finland
    No. Every map will always be completely random and no map will ever be played twice.
     
  3. Barry Bonds

    Barry Bonds The Heretic Anthem

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks for your help :) (Iron Maiden rules btw!)
     
  4. NcNikke

    NcNikke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Finland
    Sure does my friend, sure does. Where do you live BTW, did you happen to go to/will you go to one of their gigs in their current world tour?
     
  5. I-am-a-panda

    I-am-a-panda RĂ­

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ireland
    i hope the bring out a map editor with some Dowloadable content. also some civs, scenarios thrown in there.
     
  6. NcNikke

    NcNikke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Finland
    Scenarios, maybe. Maps and civs, I seriously doubt it.
     
  7. Double Barrel

    Double Barrel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Location:
    M.D.M.I.
    I doubt they change much, to be honest. One of the hallmarks of the PC version of Civ is the awesome amount of control it gives the player to design their own game. I've had some that lasted weeks after I set conditions like domination only on the biggest maps with the most number of civs allowed.

    Civ:Rev appears to be the exact opposite of that perspective. In order to simplify it for the console, they have stripped much of the depth, and in doing so, balancing issue probably won't allow for much customization.

    As soon as I obtain all the 360 achievements, this sucker gets sold and I go back the complete version of Civ that I have known and loved for many years (take your pick, II-IV are all great, IMO).
     
  8. AznWarlord

    AznWarlord Monarch

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Virginia
    No. I think the game only randomizes between Pangaea and Archipelago. I usually get a Pangaea. I've gotten an Island game once, which I quickly quit since I wasn't Spanish. (Certain Scenarios will start you on Archipelago I think. But most of the time, they'll put your Capital on Mainland and dump one of your cities on an island (in the Scenarios that start you off with 3 cities.)). I have yet to see a Continent game where Civs are split by an Ocean. 2 on one side, 3 on the other. That would be something I'd love to play.
     

Share This Page