choppy videos

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Karl Townsend, Apr 22, 2006.

  1. Karl Townsend

    Karl Townsend Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    when i reinstalled civ with the 1.61 patch fomr some reason i have been having very slow vdieo skipping frames

    can someone hellp me get my hi res moveis back
     
  2. troytheface

    troytheface Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,262
    choopy movies? Do they grow like ferns out of holes on their backs?
     
  3. Karl Townsend

    Karl Townsend Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    thats not hellping

    there fps is really crap

    i used to get and avreage of 30 now i only get 15
     
  4. Bushface

    Bushface Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Torquay, England
    @Karl - Sorry, I can't help you to get smoother videos. But I do, with deep sympathy, suggest you get professional help with your dyslexia.
     
  5. Karl Townsend

    Karl Townsend Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    why is it that when i want a question answerd everyone is a ****ing idoit

    YES I KNOW I CANT TYPE
    YES I KNOW I DONT CHECK CASUE PERSoNLY I CANT BE ****ED
     
  6. Vladesch

    Vladesch Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    This may or not work, but its worth tying...

    Go to your cinivilzation IV.ini file and try changing the following, one at a time
    SyncInput = 1
    BinkInterlace = 1
     
  7. Zanmato

    Zanmato King

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    Or try,
    ; Don't skip frames if falling behind
    BinkNoSkip = 0

    ; Copy entire image each frame, not just dirty pixels
    BinkCopyAll = 0

    ; Show movies using hi-color, not true-color (may be faster)
    Bink16Bit = 1

    ; Copy ever other scanline during movie playback (faster)
    BinkInterlace = 0

    ; Allow Screenshots. May affect performance on some video cards
    AllowScreenShots = 1
     
  8. Karl Townsend

    Karl Townsend Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    thank you you both
    least some people are not idoits
     
  9. ZiP!

    ZiP! Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    132
    **Wow**. How pathetic.

    (And I know I'll probably get banned for this post, but I just had to say it.)
     
  10. Morten Blaabjerg

    Morten Blaabjerg Settler

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,664
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Odense, Denmark
    Interestingly, I had the same stuttering videos, but it happened after a previous patch. The latest one made them run perfect again... That's strange.
     
  11. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I'll have to try this--the wonder movies work fine for me, but the opening movie has always been choppy, even with a 128 MB video card and 1 GB RAM. Hey, I like the opening movie, okay?

    I'm assuming, of course, these settings apply to the opening movie...
     
  12. Lockesdonkey

    Lockesdonkey Liberal Jihadist

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Why do you care?
    If you can't fix it, it's not hard to get used to. And remember, it's better than crashing.
     
  13. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Thanks Zanmato; this did the trick:

    ; Show movies using hi-color, not true-color (may be faster)
    Bink16Bit = 1

    The other settings in your post either had no effect, or made things worse, but hi-color made the opening movie smooth as silk on my system and I couldn't tell the difference from true-color. It was like seeing it for the first time, without all the distracting stops and starts. :goodjob:
     
  14. migthegreek

    migthegreek Back In Black

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    459
    I still have stuttering videos. None of the patches sorted them out.

    I'm sorry to say that Civ seems to have a following of some complete jerks. I think it's the sort of game that attracts people like that.
     
  15. Karl Townsend

    Karl Townsend Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    just use the sync one they suggested it worked for me
     
  16. jayeffaar

    jayeffaar Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    In my experience, that's quite the contrary. Most people are remarkably nice around here. You should spend some time on Bungie's Halo2 forums if you're looking for jerks. On the other hand, those guys don't care much about spelling, so you may have a point.... ;)
     
  17. YNCS

    YNCS Ex-bubblehead

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    -4 GMT
    Possibly a stupid question, but where is the civilizationIV.ini file?
     
  18. Iron Jack Flint

    Iron Jack Flint Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Ohio
    No, that's not a stupid question, cause i was wondering the same thing
     
  19. PhysicsRules

    PhysicsRules Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    The file is in My Documents\My Games
    For me, this did not help at all, unfortunately.
     
  20. Pendle Witch

    Pendle Witch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Sabden, England
    Might just have been my luck - but I fixed ALL my choppy movies by installing the actual monitor driver rather than just "plug and play monitor" and set it to 60HZ (I think that is the correct freq for UK - may be different for other countires)
     

Share This Page