1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

City populations keeps going into meltdown

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by FLUKE, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. FLUKE

    FLUKE Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Wales
    At some point in the later part of the game my bigger cities start going into population meltdown through hunger, I've seen pops diminish from 20 to 10, or even lower! Obviously this wrecks my game and I have to strip out all the citizens just to bring down the food usage. Is there anything I can do to prevent this happening apart from Draft (bad idea as it upsets the population and can be counter-productive) or use Slavery?

    How do people maintain a high pop city without having loads of farms?
     
  2. SharpMango

    SharpMango If in doubt, just axe!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    mmm, that shouldnt be really happening. Are you struggling with health issues....?
    ie are you having a lot of your food production lost due to new buildings such as factories/forges etc?
    Perhaps you should look into building more health orientated buildings such as granaries/harbours/aqueducts..and later on things like supermarkets...the genetics plus 3 health bonus comes in very handy too....
    try having a look at this short strategy article....
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=190583
    so basically your problem isnt a lack of farms per see...
    imagine you have a grasslands tile producing 2 food with plenty of commerce from a cottage/town....you could transfer that to a farm producing 3 food....
    but for the good of your empire it would be much better if you could maintain that town and instead stop the unhealthiness eating away your food stocks...the opportunity cost would be better i guess.

    a properly managed late game city can easily exceed size 30 population...
     
  3. Jerrymander

    Jerrymander Epistemologist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,630
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    lolwut
    this never happens to me.

    Maybe you need to trade for health and happiness resources.
     
  4. Joshua368

    Joshua368 Warmongering builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,072
    Heh, that sounds pretty extreme. You're probably overdoing unhealthy buildings. While forges and factories are almost always no brainers, keep an eye out on the health data and see if you can afford things like drydocks, coal plants, industrial parks and ironworks.
     
  5. Jerrymander

    Jerrymander Epistemologist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,630
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    Even so, a few unhealthy buildings are not gonna bring a size 20 city to size 10. Maybe size 17 at most.
     
  6. Polobo

    Polobo Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    What version and patch release are you playing? Also, what game speed? There were some bugs with early BtS on marathon where you'd suffer 30 unhealthy that went away over the course of 30 turns. I can imagine this causing the effects that you are seeing. Later patches have fixed this.
     
  7. mystikmind2005

    mystikmind2005 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    (vanilla)
    I have seen that happen in my games - but only to coastal cities!

    Because what happens is, when an enemy ship passes by the city, many ocean tiles stop getting worked - many more than the tile the ship is in! But the critical f up with this situation, is that the workers do not return once the enemy ship is gone!!

    You have to stuff around putting them all back yourself each time, and this is a massive pain in the ass once you have repeated doing it for the fiftieth time!!! grrrrrrr
     
  8. bestbrian

    bestbrian Just this guy, ya know?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344
    Location:
    NYC
    Don't automate workers! You see what a horrible job the AI does with it's own cities, why are you going to let it work yours?
     
  9. mystikmind2005

    mystikmind2005 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    If your refering to my post, i was talking about city workers not the actual units called 'workers' that run around the map building improvements.

    The 'city workers' stop working many ocean tiles when an enemy ship passes by, and then for some rediculous unknown reason, the workers do not return once the enemy ship is gone! So if you do not happen to notice the situation, then that city will starve out - horrendously fast if it is very ocean dependant.
     
  10. Joshua368

    Joshua368 Warmongering builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,072
    This happens with land units as well, although on a lesser scale. Always be sure to manually recheck your cities after a seige. Sometimes they'll stop working great tiles.
     
  11. bestbrian

    bestbrian Just this guy, ya know?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344
    Location:
    NYC
    Got ya; I was thinking the workers ran off in the face of enemy troops. Well, two things: 1) build a navy to protect your sea resources (you have to do this from the get go just to keep the barbs away), and 2) pay attention and stay on top of these things. You have to stay on top of your cities production because the AI will do absolutely STUPID things with your population by having them work unimproved tiles or assigning specialists that make no sense. There really is no effective way to automate Civ; you must manage it yourself (how "micro" you want to manage is up to you).
     
  12. mystikmind2005

    mystikmind2005 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Actually i find the city allocates tile usage quite well, and for land tiles at least, the city workers automatically return once an enemy unit blocking terrain is gone.

    This is why i cannot understand why ocean tiles should be any different? Why carn't the workers automatically teturn? It is so tedious and frustrating to have to continually reasign all the stupid workers every time an enemy ship passes by, and even having naval defences is no help because this is a turn based game and enemy ships are free to sail past your cities while it is their turn. By the time it is your turn and you kill the enemy ship, so what? all the stupid workers have already run off and need you to waste all your time reasigning them again and again and again and again Ahhhhgggg it is enough to drive a man insane!
     
  13. Joshua368

    Joshua368 Warmongering builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,072
    I've had land tiles not automatically reassign... I definitely recall a few times when I'd catch the city not working its local gems or gold tile anymore, even if the mine wasn't pillaged.
     
  14. SharpMango

    SharpMango If in doubt, just axe!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    the worst just has to be the BTS propensity to delegate specialists to the semi-useless 'spy' role...
    everytime i re-allocate specialists, after the city pops up another size...
    they're back..
    gah gah gah gah
     
  15. mystikmind2005

    mystikmind2005 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Ah ic, yes well those bonuses are not necissarily beneficial to the cities needs, however, if you ever see a city choose not to work a cattle bonus then let me know?
     

Share This Page