City screen building icon clarity

How do you like the change?

• Yes please.

Votes: 8 44.4%
  • The buttons were just fine.

Votes: 6 33.3%
  • I would like to see all applicable building buttons having the resource icons.

Votes: 4 22.2%

• Total voters

FlaviusBelisarius

Chieftain
Hello all!

-- optionally skip this part to move to the topic of the headline -->
I am new to the forum so short introduction is in place: I am a long time colonization fan and have spent probably thousands of hours in my childhood alone playing the original Colonization Amiga version. While plain civ4col was a disappointment, the mods have been great and I have been following their development from time to time. But now I have finally decided to step in to do and share modding work of my own.

I am a professional software developer and I work with python. I am comfortable with C++ too and just got the developer tools set up and managed to compile the game dll for the first time. Nevertheless, I am very unfamiliar with the colonization / WtP mod codebase and I would greatly benefit from some basic guidance. I have loads of my own ideas to implement but I can work with community given ideas if I get motivated by them enough. In my mind, WtP is moving in general into a good direction but I might be tempted to do modmodding instead if my visions diverge too much from the established development team. And of course, I have limited resources to invest here so realistically I will do a small feature or improvement every now and then and that is it.

-- skip here -->
I have been playing WtP for quite a long time but still I am having painful time looking at the building button (icons): the different workshop designs are not easy to match to their function. So I end up hovering for the tooltip info and wasting time looking for a particular building.