1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 3 installation problem

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Macintosh' started by newneo, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. newneo

    newneo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hello everyone, i just bought a Civilization III game for Mac, actually I've the version 10.5.5
    when I launch the Civilization III Installer I get this error: Application Launch Failure The application "(null)" could not be launched because of a shared library error: "<Stand><Stand><CarbonLib><>"
     
  2. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Hi, welcome :wavey:

    Which version of Civ3 are you trying to install - MacSoft or Aspyr? What Mac hardware are you installing on?

    If it's the Aspyr Civ3 Complete installer, try copying it to the desktop first, then launching it.

    If it's the old MacSoft version, and you are trying to install it on an Intel Mac, then it's probably not worth trying, as that version is not compatible with Leopard on modern Mac hardware.
     
  3. pentostome

    pentostome Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Hi!
    you mentioned a compatibility problem which may be mine: I have the old Macsoft Civilization 3 and I'm trying to install it on my intel mac with Tiger. Is it compatible then?
    Pentos
     
  4. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Hi, welcome :wavey:

    I don't have Tiger running on an Intel system, so I can't test it. I seem to recall that the compatibility issues started when Leopard came along, but it's a long time ago now. What happens when you try to install it?

    Is it really a problem to just find a copy of the current Aspyr Civ3 Complete version? It's far better, and should be able to run on your system with no problems. Your biggest problem may be that even that version has ceased to be available from the mainstream stockists, but eBay should be able to oblige.
     
  5. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,019
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Can still get it on Amazon as well (new 15-20$ including shipping within US). & if you click over to amazon from the CFC front page it benefits CFC. ;)
     

Share This Page