1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 4 and tablets

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Dionysis, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. Dionysis

    Dionysis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    I have been thinking of getting a tablet and wanted to play Civ 4 on it. I own the PC versions of the game but would be willing to purchase the MAC version.

    Problem is, is it possible to install Civ 4 on an iPad, for example? Would the up-coming Windows 8 tablets (with an Intel chip) be a better choice?

    Note that I do not want to remote to my desktop, I want to be able to physically install Civ to the tablet so I can play it anywhere.

    Thanks.
     
  2. GrandAdmiral

    GrandAdmiral Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    No, you can't install civ4 on an iPad. But, there is a version of civ for the iPad called Civ Revolutions.

    It runs on the current Samsung Windows 7 tablet. It should run on an Intel Windows 8 tablet, especially with the upcoming Intel integrated graphics upgrade.
     
  3. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,523
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't feel like Civ4 would make for a very touch-friendly game... has anyone tried it?
     
  4. Dionysis

    Dionysis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Good point Zelig. I guess I will just have to stick to the desktop for now :sad:
     
  5. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,523
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, it might be playable, I just wouldn't want to spend money on that kind of hardware for that purpose before trying it out beforehand, or at least getting some feedback from someone who had.
     
  6. Mise

    Mise isle of lucy

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    28,622
    Location:
    London, UK
    Civ Rev is pretty good, but it doesn't even come close to the complexity and difficulty of the full game. It's like a child's version of the game, really.

    Sadly, there's no way of playing PC games on your iPad without remote desktop'ing, AFAIK.


    EDIT: I just installed Freeciv for Android, which is currently in Beta. It's not bad (Freeciv is an open source clone of Civ 2, basically). It works pretty well on touch screen, but it's all a bit too small to play on my phone. Maybe a tablet would make it more playable, but the reviews say that the icons are too small on a bigger screen.
     
  7. bob bobato

    bob bobato L'imparfait

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015
    Location:
    Montreal
    Civ works very well on a touchscreen, though the iPad version is really only about as complex as Civ2. I'd look out for improvements however - in theory I'd say games like civ work better with a touch input than with a mouse and keyboard.
     
  8. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,523
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm curious about Civ4 running on Windows with a touchscreen, not CivRev.
     
  9. bob bobato

    bob bobato L'imparfait

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015
    Location:
    Montreal
    I doubt that it's possible. At best you'd probably just use the touchscreen to move around the cursor, which is rather pointless.
     
  10. innonimatu

    innonimatu Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,667
    Dumbed down games for dumbed down computers. Makes sense.
     
  11. mdwh

    mdwh Deity

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,565
    Should install and run on a Windows 8 x86 tablet (or even the existing Windows 7 tablets as GrandAdmiral refers to).

    Does Civ 4 require a right mouse button at any point? That would seem the main issue.

    No idea whether any of the UI might be too small for touch. Though some of the Samsung phones/tablets have styluses, which would if necessary be one way to solve that problem.

    An obvious question is why - you say "so I can play it anywhere", but ultra-portable laptops/netbooks are almost as portable as the larger tablets, and can also easily slip in your bag wherever you go.

    ETA: Hmm, of course what would be perfect for this kind of thing would be a virtual touchpad, similar to virtual touch keyboards. Whilst apparently pointless on a touchscreen, it would be great for working on a tablet with software that isn't optimised for touch (either because it's old, or because it's a more complex "desktop" Windows app and they have no desire to make a dumbed down Metro version). I don't know if Windows 8 will feature such a thing, or if someone could write such a thing...
     
  12. ind57

    ind57 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Windows 8 and and tablets with windows 8 are now available.
    Did anybody try to install and play with Civ IV on it??
     
  13. cardgame

    cardgame Obsessively Opposed to the Typical

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14,867
    Location:
    Misery
    I imagine it would be pretty doable with the Surface and a wireless mouse.
     
  14. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,523
    Location:
    Canada
    Surface Pro, not the Surface.

    Civ won't run on Windows RT.
     
  15. GoodGame

    GoodGame Red, White, & Blue, baby!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    13,725
    It'd be pretty useful if where you touched, the mouse pointer instantly moved to that location.
     
  16. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,523
    Location:
    Canada
    It's been pretty well established that this user paradigm results in a really bad touch experience.
     
  17. whitel0tus

    whitel0tus Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I put civ4 on my laptop. I connect to the internet by tethering through a galaxy S3. I usually have a 3 or 4g connection. Even 3g connection is 1MB and up. When I try to play multiplayer I cant connect to half the players. Please help.
     
  18. Needles093

    Needles093 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Has anyone found out if Civ 4 works with touchscreens? Or if there is a mod or patch that can be downloaded?

    The Surface Pro is barely strong enough for Civ 5 (which supports touch,) but late game is nearly unplayable with very low framerates.
     
  19. hobbsyoyo

    hobbsyoyo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    25,960
    Civ 4 probably works with Win 8 touchscreens. If you are worried about bad functionality wrt the touchscreen, get a mouse for your tablet.

    Civ5 works with my touchscreen tablet btw, so I'm sure Civ4 will. Civ5 has a 'touch optimized' mode but it actually doesn't work nearly as well as 'normal' mode - which still recognizes touchscreen input.
     

Share This Page