1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 4 c2c graphic card help!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by c0pr4x, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. c0pr4x

    c0pr4x Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    I know, it not a thread for c2c but maybe someone can help me..

    I don't why but when i play c2c my graphic card temperature is very high! 105 degrees celcius!! What can i do? I thought the card was good for the game!

    It's a geforce gt 220! I play civ4 in a windows too.. Not in full screen mode.

    Ps - sorry moderator. If you don't like this post you can delete it! :) but thanks to let it on the forum! :)
     
  2. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,714
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Is it dirty? Does it have good airflow?

    With that high a temp your Fan on the vid card could be plugged up!

    Is this a laptop or PC? If PC, how many case fans does you comp have? If laptop are you using a cooling tray?

    JosEPh
     
  3. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,463
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Moderator does not control what goes into this forum, other than spam, so dont worry about it from them, that being said:
    Your 220 card is (no offense) really really really OLD:old:

    I thought YOU already mentioned this before and had an answer to it, but any ways here are your specs:

    Column 1
    Manufacturer Nvidia Geforce AMD Radeon
    GT 220 9600 GT 9500 GT HD 3650 HD 3870
    Chip GT216 G94 G96(b) RV670 RV670
    Architecture (Nanometer) 40 65 65 (b: 55) 55 55
    Chip frequency(MHz) 625 650 550 700 775
    Shader ALUs frequency (MHz) 1,375 1,625 1,375 700 775
    Memory frequency (MHz) 790 900 800 800 1,126
    Shader version 4.1 4.0 4.0 4.1 4.1
    Shader ALUs (VS/PS) 48 (skalar) 64 (skalar) 32 (skalar) 120 (24 Vec5) 320 (64 Vec5)
    Memory amount (MiByte) 512/1.024 512 256/512 256/512 256/512
    Memory type GDDR3 GDDR3 DDR2/GDDR3 DDR2/GDDR3 GDDR3
    Calculation power (GFLOP/s, Pixel-Sh.) 132 208 88 168 427.5
    Texturefill (MTex/s) 14,760 20,800 8,800 6,000 10,688
    Memory bancwidth (GiByte/s) 25.28 57.6 25.6 25.6 52.99


    power consumption of the GPU (about 40 watt at max) Now this is a 2009 review, which in gaming standard OLD as the hills. No card should be more than 5 years old at the latest, if trying to keep up with gaming needs nowadays, IMPO. (I personally will have a new one every 2-3 years).

    Actually i just found this: This tells the whole story:

    http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/video_lookup.php?gpu=GeForce+GT+220

    Your cad is pretty much at the BOTTOM of the Totem pole, so to say, sorry.
     
  4. sp00n

    sp00n Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    And there I thought I was one with an old graphic cards with my 8800gt...

    Civ4 doesn't really need a good card, it's not really very graphic intense. Its main focus is memory, but tbh you card may actually struggle.

    However, 105 Celsius points to a defect cooling, or a very bad cooling solution (my old Dell laptop had that). If you can, clean your card from dust and check if the cooling still works. Maybe the fan is broken.
     
  5. Hale_9204

    Hale_9204 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Italy
    since we're in topic, is in your opinion a Geforce GT 520M a good card for playing C2C? Note that i play on a laptop and i don't know much how to disassemble it
     
  6. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,463
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Well according to this, is is again at the very bottom of the 500Mish series, the shader is even worse:

    Column 1
    Manufacturer NVIDIA
    GeForce GT 500M Series
    GeForce GT 555M 144@525-753MHz
    GeForce GT 550M 96@740MHz
    GeForce GT 540M 96@672MHz
    GeForce GT 525M 96@600MHz
    GeForce GT 520MX 48@900MHz
    GeForce GT 520M 48@740 / 600MHz
    Codename N12P-GP/LV
    Architecture Fermi
    Pipelines 48 - unified
    Core Speed * 740 / 600 MHz
    Shader Speed * 1480 / 1200 MHz
    Memory Speed * 800 / 900 MHz
    Memory Bus Width 64 / 128 Bit
    Memory Type DDR3 (GDDR5)
    Max. Amount of Memory 1536 MB
    Shared Memory no
    DirectX DirectX 11, Shader 5.0
    Current Consumption 17 Watt
    technology 40 nm
    Features PhysX, Verde Drivers, CUDA, Optimus, DirectCompute, OpenCL, DirectX11, OpenGL 4.1
    Date of Announcement 05.01.2011
     
  7. sp00n

    sp00n Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
  8. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    A GT 520M should be fine for playing Civ4, even with C2C. You might want to drop down to Medium graphics, or even Low if you are getting a frame rate that is unacceptable to you, but this is less of an issue than with real time games. Of more concern with a laptop is how much memory it has. 4GB is nice, 8GB is better if you are using a 64-bit operating system (but pointless if you are not).

    I have no difficulty with a GT 520 (not M), and it is an unusually slow GT 520 (memory is only clocked at 667MHz instead of the reference version's 900MHz, but the GPU is clocked at the reference speed). I can run on High graphics with 2x anti-aliasing and get an acceptable frame rate (although it would probably not be acceptable a lot of the time if it was a real time game rather than turn based).

    The original poster's GT 220 should actually be slightly faster than my GT 520 - the 220 has the GPU (which has, I think, the same number of cores) clocked a bit slower but it has a memory path that is twice as wide (128 bit vs. 64 bit) and if it is the GDDR3 version (and running at the reference clock speed) then its ability to keep the processor supplied with data is much better than my GT 520, which will tend to more than make up for the GPU's slower speed.
     
  9. Hale_9204

    Hale_9204 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Italy
    well, thank you aniway guys, this explains much of my problems
     
  10. c0pr4x

    c0pr4x Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    thanks for response.. my computer is about 4 years old i think... i don't play very much games except civ4 c2c right now... so i thought my card was ok... so... i have to change my card? Is it difficult to do this myself? And what card could i get? I don't want to pay a lot... or what i should look to see if it's a good card?

    Because all the other stuff is all good. I think i have a good cpu with i7 Core. I don't know why i took this graphic card..lol :p

    Edit: I found this one Radeon HD 6670. 74,99! Is it good? http://www.bestbuy.ca/fr-CA/product...spx?path=8ef4d0857cf9e5d477126140fe75debefr02
     
  11. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,714
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Yes it's a decent card.

    But did you check to see if your current cards fan is clogged up with dirt? Too get as Hot as you said 105*C, airflow Is a problem!

    JosEPh
     
  12. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,463
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Its better than my card, but not worth putting in a 32 bit machine, you must have a 64 bit one or its quite pointless.
     
  13. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,714
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    @SO,

    It's very likely that his comp has not been cleaned inside for 4 years. Most ppl don't even think about that until they burn up a CPU or Vid card.

    JosEPh
     
  14. c0pr4x

    c0pr4x Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    I try to clean it recently. But maybe it wasn't enough. I will try again. For your information, when the temperature is 85 and up, i heard the sound of the fan.. I've got windows 7 with 64 bit i think.

    Is it possible that my computer is not in a good place? It's under my desk. I will try to clean it a little more to see if that works.. if not.. i would need to buy another card.

    Is all the card can fit in all computer? What is the specification i need to look to see if it's a good card?
     
  15. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,675
    Location:
    Melbourne
  16. sp00n

    sp00n Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
  17. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,714
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    If his vid card hit the max temp of 105*C more than once the chance of damage goes up significantly.

    JosEPh
     
  18. Raven Destroyer

    Raven Destroyer Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    usually it ain't good when thing's boil water... personally i already start worrying when my pc fan get's noisy (as then i am using like 3.5 Gig's of memory)
     
  19. c0pr4x

    c0pr4x Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    I bought a new graphic card for your information. It will be a MSI Radeon HD 7750 ! I think it would be better. :D
     
  20. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,714
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Yes much better. :)

    JosEPh
     

Share This Page