CIV 5 BNW - Bugs with Faith?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ch103, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. ch103

    ch103 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    OK - let me just start off by saying I am furious right now.

    I have a city with Mt. Kailash (+10 Faith) in its borders and I also have a parthenon with "One with Nature" (+4 Faith) yet the game is saying I only earn +1 Faith per turn.

    WTF?!
     
  2. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Mt. Kailash provides ONLY faith, no food, so the default city management won't work it, you have to WORK the tile to recieve the benefits, not just have them within your borders.
     
  3. duckmanbro

    duckmanbro Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Sydney, Aus
    Yep- as Oz said. Needs to be worked to gain anything from it, like every tile...
     
  4. ch103

    ch103 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    How exactly does a person work a Natural Wonder tile, which by default cannot be altered?
     
  5. duckmanbro

    duckmanbro Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Sydney, Aus
    Aside from waiting for the governor to automatically choose it, you set it manually by opening up the citizen management panel, and then selecting the tile you want to work. As Oz said though, it provides no food, so the only growth tile will be your capital, unless you already have a greater pop than 1/2.

    EDIT: Unless you're asking in regards to a worker, no they don't work it, your city manager will.
     
  6. ch103

    ch103 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    All - cannot thank you enough for all of the help, now I am happily earning +12 faith per turn!!!!!
     
  7. duckmanbro

    duckmanbro Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Sydney, Aus
    Woo hoo! Don't forget to prioritise growth, don't want a mega-religion with no growth or productivity, or be steam rolled by a friendly warmonger.
     
  8. Furret

    Furret Tryhard

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    :lol:
     
  9. duckmanbro

    duckmanbro Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Sydney, Aus
    Well, they are friendly, until they decide your Utopia is too good to wander all their troops past!! :crazyeye:
     
  10. EriktheRead

    EriktheRead Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    It's like, "nice cultural center target. I'll take it"
     
  11. Nick Carpathia

    Nick Carpathia Unleash the HAARP

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Romania
    It always surprises me how many new players don't know how to allocate citizens. Like in CIv4 or SMAC, as soon as you click a city, you had big circles or big icons superimposed on top of tiles, and it was clear that you could shift them around. Every time you load up CIv5, you need to click a tiny little icon in the top right corner of the screen before it lets you start shifting citizens around. That's some terrible UI design.
     
  12. duckmanbro

    duckmanbro Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Sydney, Aus
    Yep, that's what I never understood at first. I wanted to assign some citizens, however, I could never find WHERE to do it (nevermind Civ5 was just released at the time, and I was still in CIV mindset).

    Since learning to allocate citizens (a month or so after initial CiV release!!), my game has improved ten-fold. Manual specialist control takes it further again.
     
  13. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Ironically, I'm still letting the AI do all the work, but then again I am only playing Warlord :|
     
  14. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    The game always tries to balance out citizens working tiles and may shift some around. To overcome this you must lock down every tile(padlock symbol) for your choices to stay put, and lock your specialists('manual' tick box). You can check by leaving the city screen and re-entering it to see if the game has changed anything. Don't leave any unemployed citizens as you can't lock them.

    I've found another thing(when you haven't locked your citizens/specialist) is if you click the 'reset tiles' button, or the the center tile multiple times you might get more on what your focusing on. For example you select production focus, multiple clicks on the center tile may remove citizens from food only tiles and make them unemployed giving the absolute maximum production.
     

Share This Page