Civ Assist newb

bbrady413

Chieftain
So I just downloaded Civ Assist II. I've never used a Civ utility like this before. It seems interesting with a lot of info!

The question is, how do I use it? I mean, I know how to open it and look at the data, but how do you all use it to help in your game play? What are the most useful and applicable things to examine?

Currently playing the COTM with India.

Thanks!

Speaking personally, I like to have it pop up the extra 'Alerts' box on every round.

I have most of the alerts checked in the Alerts tab, but I especially like to know when cities are about to grow/have just grown (helps with Settler-pump management) or about to riot (if this is a long list, it's a reminder to bang the LUX% up a notch or two that turn!), and production overrun warnings (for last-turn micromanagement/ build reassignment if necessary to avoid wasting lots of shields). I also like to know when deals are about to expire (especially peace treaties!) and when someone has something to sell, or lots of cash to buy my stuff.

Mostly I have the 'Trade options' Tab open as default, switching into 'Current Trades' when I want a reminder of exactly what's going to run out, and consulting 'Diplomacy' to tell me when someone becomes willing to negotiate if I'm anxious to end a war ASAP (although the Alerts box can also be set to do this).

Other than that, I find the 'Map' tab very useful for planning core city-placement, especially for Vanilla/PtW, where RCP is extremely beneficial (read 'pretty much essential'!) -- and it can also be set to show which tiles have already been forest-chopped for the 10s. And the Technology tab can be useful for estimating how many turns it will take to complete a beeline at your current science output, e.g. for fine-tuning Wonder/Ship prebuilds (in conjunction with the 'Production' tab which shows turns to complete said prebuilds), but I tend not to consult those as much as I probably ought to.