1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ BE for Mac Postponed

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by jpinoniemi, Sep 4, 2014.

  1. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
  2. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    Yep. I can take a guess at what happened here. Aspyr's process started with a home-grown toolkit that converted DX9 to OpenGL. Civ BE requires DX11 - no DX9 version - so Aspyr needs to update the toolkit. They probably planned to do that anyway, but now they have to, on a deadline. And they ran into something - a bug, a performance issue, whatever - and need time to fix it. And 2K being 2K, they really don't care if other platforms are ready to go live; if the PC code is done, they send it out to the masses, and don't really give a hoot about Mac (or Linux, now).

    The most puzzling part of 2K's policies is that they nominally support cross-platform multiplayer, but routinely break cross-platform compatibility by releasing a patch for one platform while the other platform is still developing.

    I really don't get why 2K bothers to license for the other platforms at all.

    Anyway, my bootcamp partition is ready :(
     
  3. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I was a little disappointed when I heard the news, but now, not so much. I didn't like Alpha Centauri and this looks like a redux.

    If and when it is released for Mac, I'll purchase it. I don't do bootcamp just for gaming.
     
  4. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    I never played Alpha Centauri, so I don't really know, but I've heard the developers talk quite a bit about how this isn't really the same thing, and outside of being vaguely "Civ in space" they don't have much in common. There's plenty of gameplay footage posted on Steam; you'll have to take a look at your leisure and come to your own conclusions.

    I don't enjoy bootcamp - but it's necessary, sometimes. I have Windows friends I game with, and the Mac version of the game is either frequently out of sync (Civ) or not released until years later (Total War Shogun 2) or nonexistent at all. So when the OS X version exists and is the correct version, I play it, and otherwise, into the fiery depths of Windows I go. Just requires about $100 up front investment and about an hour a month in upkeep.
     
  5. Sid

    Sid Observer and Participant

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Or, you might believe this.
     
  6. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    It's interesting, but at this point I don't think we want to trust the Mac / Linux release date unless it comes from Aspyr.
     
  7. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
  8. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Thanks for that info forty2j, that's better news that before!
     
  9. CGPanama

    CGPanama Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    All I can think is: how vague can you be? Holiday season? Veteran's day is a holiday and that is only a couple of weeks away. Thanksgiving? Hanukkah? Christmas? Kwanzaa? New Year's Eve? Boxing day?

    NATIONAL CHOCOLATE COVERED ANYTHING DAY!??!!

    :lol:

    Fortunately, I am willing to wait on this going on sale. Just doesn't hold the same appeal for me as Civ Historical.
     
  10. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    Did you read the system requirements? Yosemite is required. And it, uh, just came out. They've probably been developing against the Beta, but haven't been able to go into QA until the operating system was released. So I venture that now they're officially testing it, and they'll release it when all the major bugs fall out.
     
  11. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH

    Attached Files:

  12. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    So, after the great mistake, but early in the ensuing dark age?
     
  13. misterchief

    misterchief Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    If I buy the game for Windows through Steam, when the Mac version gets released, I'll get that version for free, right?
     
  14. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    Yep. Confirmed in Aspyr's FAQ.
     
  15. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,922
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    I would be curious to know: Where Mac owners who pre-ordered expecting an universal launch date were offered a refund? Or was the Linux/OS X delay announced ahead of them actually taking money?

    For my own part, I decided quite a while ago that I would be waiting for the first balance patch, and not buying before the holidays anyway. I was an early adopter for III and then IV, but I learned my lesson and waited quite a while before buying V, and I only relatively recently started with BNW. That was a good call!
     
  16. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    As far as I know you have never been able to prepurchase BE in a place that advertised Mac availability on a certain date.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page