1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ II MGE Multiplayer Connection Issue in Wine

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Technical Support' started by mustang11, Mar 18, 2017.

  1. mustang11

    mustang11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I've successfully installed the PC version of Civilization II MGE on my two Mac Pros using the latest version of Wine and Mac OS Sierra. I was able to install from original PC CDs and after patching to 1.3 the game runs really well in single player mode...

    Unfortunately I cannot get multiplayer games to connect. I can create games under "Network Game" on one machine and see them on the other, however it hangs up on "Waiting for game machine to connect." Trying from "Internet Game" and manually entering the IP address yields the same result.

    I don't think the issue is related to wine. I'm able to successfully create/join multiplayer games in other classic TCP/IP / UDP games like UT GOTY, StarCraft, etc. All these programs including CIV II MGE see my computer's correct IP addresses.

    So far I've tried using a crossover cable and self assigned IP addresses to eliminate router/switch issues with no luck. I patched to the 64 bit version (later reinstalled back to 32 bit as this did not make a difference). I've also tried changing compatibility modes in Wine to run as Windows 95, 98, NT, etc.

    I'd love to get this game going again on a modern system. Any suggestions on troubleshooting connection issues would be appreciated. I've included the log files of what I'm seeing from the two machines below:

    Thanks,
    Brian

    Hosting Logs:

    ******************** SMEDS LOG *********************
    File Output to: smeds.log
    SMEDS32 Version: 2.0.0
    ( 0) 5.4.0f Multiplayer 26-March-99
    ( 0) Patch 3
    ( 0) Disconnecting from network:
    ( 0) XD_ResetLibrary();
    ( 0) Bottom-up orientation recommended.
    ( 25) Not an IGZ Game!! event = -3
    ( 48) Disconnecting from network:
    ( 48) XD_ResetLibrary();
    ( 61) Disconnecting from network:
    ( 61) XD_ResetLibrary();
    ( 77) NewClientReceiveFunc: New client connection. ID->1
    ( 92) LostConnectionFunc: Connection to 1 has shutdown.

    Log file created and opened, 13:34:25 on 3-18-2017 ª
    _________________________________________________________________________________
    XDaemon Communications Library v3.5.0 Online - 10-Nov-1998
    _________________________________________________________________________________
    ( 1) ------------------------------------
    ( 1) XDaemon reset on, 13:34:27 ª
    ( 1) ------------------------------------
    ( 27) XD_LaunchedByLobby - retVal = XLOBBYERR_NOTLOBBIED
    ( 49) ------------------------------------
    ( 49) XDaemon reset on, 13:35:16 ª
    ( 49) ------------------------------------
    ( 63) ------------------------------------
    ( 63) XDaemon reset on, 13:35:30 ª
    ( 63) ------------------------------------
    ( 63) Global hInstance = 0x10000000
    ( 63) Socket 236 internal receive buffer size = 131072
    ( 63) Socket 236 created
    ( 63) XDaemon Initialized to TCP mode successfully
    ( 69) IP Address Lookup: 10.0.0.28
    ( 69) IP Address Lookup: 10.0.0.28
    ( 78) Socket 228 internal receive buffer size = 131768
    ( 78) Socket 228 created
    ( 79) Client Addr = 10.0.0.26
    ( 93) FD_CLOSE on socket 228, errors = 0
    ( 93) Closed Connection
    ( 93) Lost connection to ID 1

    Joining Logs:

    ******************** SMEDS LOG *********************
    File Output to: smeds.log
    SMEDS32 Version: 2.0.0
    ( 0) 5.4.0f Multiplayer 26-March-99
    ( 0) Patch 3
    ( 0) Disconnecting from network:
    ( 0) XD_ResetLibrary();
    ( 0) Bottom-up orientation recommended.
    ( 41) Not an IGZ Game!! event = -3
    ( 85) Disconnecting from network:
    ( 85) XD_ResetLibrary();
    ( 88) Disconnecting from network:
    ( 88) XD_ResetLibrary();
    ( 106) ConnectedToServerFunc: New server connection. ID->-1

    ´ Log file created and opened, 13:34:14 on 3-18-2017 ª
    ______________________________________________________________________________
    XDaemon Communications Library v3.5.0 Online - 10-Nov-1998
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    ( 0) ------------------------------------
    ( 0) XDaemon reset on, 13:34:14 ª
    ( 0) ------------------------------------
    ( 41) XD_LaunchedByLobby - retVal = XLOBBYERR_NOTLOBBIED
    ( 85) ------------------------------------
    ( 85) XDaemon reset on, 13:35:39 ª
    ( 85) ------------------------------------
    ( 89) ------------------------------------
    ( 89) XDaemon reset on, 13:35:43 ª
    ( 89) ------------------------------------
    ( 89) Global hInstance = 0x10000000
    ( 89) Socket 232 internal receive buffer size = 131072
    ( 89) Socket 232 created
    ( 89) XDaemon Initialized to TCP mode successfully
    ( 89) IP Address Lookup: 10.0.0.26
    ( 89) IP Address Lookup: 10.0.0.26
    ( 91) Attempting connection to IP address 10.0.0.28
    ( 91) Socket 232 set to connect mode
    ( 91) FD_CONNECT on socket 232, errors = 0
    ( 106) Terminating temporary connection on socket 232
    ( 106) Socket 232 internal receive buffer size = 131072
    ( 106) Socket 232 created
     
  2. catalin72

    catalin72 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    Hi.
    1.What version of Windows you have,Windows 10,Vista ?
    2.What version of Civ II MGE you have ? Can open a map,a saved game,'game'(near 'kingdom'),'game options',up in the panel have the version and a date,1996,1998,etc.
    3.To make connection with a cable is hard,need reversed 'pines'.
    Solutions ?
    A partition with XP,to have options to start the PC 'in older version of Windows' or new version(I have this for old games:)).
    A partition with Virtual Box or other soft,I tried this with a player.To play in Windows 10 or other new OS need more patches,DLL's...
    I played recently with a player from Finland in the game network named 'Evolve',using option 'Network Game',was created a room in 'Evolve' and a new IP for that network.The biggest network after the fall of GameSpy is GameRanger,but GameRanger recognizes a single exe(Civ II Gold),I don't have that exe.Can try too with account in 'Evolve',if you start to play Civ II and in your status appears 'playing Civ II MGE',then you have a patch good for that network.
    Good luck !
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2017
  3. mustang11

    mustang11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm running MacOS Sierra with Wine 2.0 installed. I've tried running Wine in compatibility mode with windows NT, 95, XP, etc however multiplayer will not connect using TCP/IP. Other TCP/IP games function without issue through Wine.

    The version is listed as "Civilization II Multiplayer Gold 5.4 26-March-99 Patch 3"

    After installing from the original US CD and patching to 1.3, I also applied the 64 bit patch after experiencing some issues with text boxes. I can start, save and load games with no issues (in fact apart from some minor sound glitches single player runs really well).
    I am borrowing a laptop with windows 7 and a pc with windows 10 and will test multiplayer with those machines and report back.

    I have read that some users on windows 7-10 have similar connection issues with Civ 2. Is there something different about the TCP/IP configurations on modern machines that could prevent Civ 2 from working?

    Thanks,
    Brian
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017 at 12:55 PM
  4. catalin72

    catalin72 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    Hi.Can't play in 2017 multiplayer Civ II without a network maked with Hamachi or other network,my opinion.Can find too more threads here about connections problems using Hamachi on new OS.
    I proposed Evolve,can make an account,have option 'Create Party',a room to play,in that room will have a new IP,start MGE,your partner will start too,he will write that IP when is in your 'party' and can have a connection with a good result.
    Good luck !
     

Share This Page