1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ IV and Windows 8, do they work together?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by DABegley, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    C:programs(x86)/2KGames/Firaxis Games/Sid Meiers Civilization IV Complete/Mods

    Simply change the destination path.
    Or, you can extract the mod to your desktop and then just click/drag the mod into your mods folder.
    Or, if you already have a mod in your /mygames folder, open it up, then open up the /mods folder, then shrink both widows to where they both fit on your screen, then click and drag the mod from one mod folder to the other.
    There's a couple other ways to do it, but those are the easiest.
     
  2. sydhe

    sydhe King of Kongs

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,426
    Location:
    Norman Oklahoma
    By the way, if you want to free yourself from the tyranny of Windows 8, it runs fine on Windows 10 as well.
     
  3. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,780
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    Swirl900:
    "If you get the chance to answer, where is the 'roots mod directory' and how does one go about accessing it/putting mods into there. I didn't know you could put in in somewhere other than my games, then the civ folder. "

    He is saying put the mods in the main game Mod folder, where the mods that come with the game are located, rather than in your personal game folder. The main game folder will be in your Program, Application, or similarly named folder (depending on your OS) at the top level of the internal hard drive's organization.

    Drakarska has given you the address above (in post 21) for most Windows 7 systems.

    It can be elsewhere but if it were, you would have put it there and not be asking this question.
     
  4. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,376
    Civ IV ran great on Windows 8, 8.1 and still runs great on 10 for me.
     
  5. Ambidexter

    Ambidexter Edjumacated Idjit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Connecticut
    For some reason one mod, Rise of Mankind, doesn't run on Windows 10 for me, even though the much large and more complicated Caveman to Cosmos mod does.
     
  6. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Ok, that's odd. Runs great for me, and I can't get C2C to run ( black tiles). Love the Irony.
     

Share This Page