1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ IV: Beyond the Sword Info Center

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Methos, May 15, 2007.

  1. ohcrapitsnico

    ohcrapitsnico Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,267
    I did amazon just today, chose 2 day shipping so at the earliest I should get it friday. Hopefully...

    I should have got it today but thats out of my control. I want it now because this week is the last free time I have for at least a month.:rolleyes:
     
  2. dawe1313

    dawe1313 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    one place nobody seems to think about is Target. they had it on the shelves on the afternoon of the 24th
     
  3. gocanes

    gocanes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    I pre-ordered mine from Best Buy and they still do not have them in stock as of this morning. They are now showing a back-order till Aug 10. I don't know what is the deal with them, but I am a little pissed. I tried switching to store pick-up because they showed store availability online, but the rep checked and the stores have 0 stock as of this morning. Just another release blown by Best Buy... they should rename it Worst Buy!
     
  4. Gaius Octavius

    Gaius Octavius Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,016
    Just cancel all your online orders and go pick it up in a store. Somebody's bound to have one...
     
  5. eric_

    eric_ Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,725
    Location:
    Riverdale, MD
    Yeah, I was gonna do that today, and go figure, Amazon finally switches my order to "shipping soon," which means no more ability to cancel, but also that it's not yet in the mail...dammit!
     
  6. Zebra 9

    Zebra 9 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Middle of Cyberspace
    I'm never gona preorder. It sounds like it's a pain in the neck for most and only a lucky few get it early.
     
  7. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Super Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    It worked great for me through EB Games. I got it yesterday (the 24th). Amazon is the one I wouldn't pre-order new releases from.
     
  8. JFLNYC

    JFLNYC Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Exact same for me. EBGames rules!
     
  9. Zebra 9

    Zebra 9 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Middle of Cyberspace
    So EB games is the way to go then? :hmm:


    Is it just me or did you gain a new position as Moderator?
     
  10. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Super Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    Yes. I'm now one of the moderators for the BTS forums, as stated in this announcement.
     
  11. The Navy Seal

    The Navy Seal Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I might get BtS today if I'm lucky most likely it'll be tommorow though.:cry:
     
  12. Zebra 9

    Zebra 9 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Middle of Cyberspace
    Well congrats w/ both getting BtS and the new Moderatorship.:thumbsup:
     
  13. Jamesds

    Jamesds Great Scientist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Location:
    Highlands, Scotland Uni: St Andrews
    I actually was very pleased with the service I received from Amazon. I preordered it too, and they sent it to me on Friday 20th, only 2 days after release in Australia. However, maybe Amazon US is not as great as Amazon UK??
     
  14. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Amazon UK is excellent. I ordered mine from there and it arrived promptly and cheaply, too.
     
  15. samiratou

    samiratou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I got mine at GameStop yesterday--they came in at about 11 yesterday morning. I had originally ordered from Amazon, but their notice that they won't even have stock until Saturday made me cancel and go elsewhere. No reason to wait an extra week.

    Just started a game late last night. Lovin' the Espionage so far, but haven't gotten far enough to test out much else. However, I'm a total nerd, 'cause the thing I'm most excited about is they fixed the animal images so I actually get to see them (instead of just their shadows) on my barely-meets-the-requirements computer.
     
  16. elmurid

    elmurid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I just got my BTS at Best Buy. It was not out in the shelves, so I asked someone to go in the back to get it. Sure enough it was there. Lazy store personnel should not avail the enemies of Civilization!!!:D
     
  17. ATopic22

    ATopic22 Clan SPADE Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    United States
    so does the game run better than civ 4 vanila on barely meeting requirements computers. If so thats great news for me.:goodjob:
     
  18. zagnut

    zagnut Monarch

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Randolph, NJ, USA
    I got my copy yesterday so have not had enough time to delve into it too deeply. I did notice that there is a note in the manual that to get the best effects you need at least a GE Force Series 8 video card and a SoundBlaster X-Fi sound card. I have neither and the graphics look better than Warlords and the sound is the same. Maybe I am missing some sounds but if so they are not obvious.

    My video card is Nvidia X1300, which is a couple of generations old and doesn't equal the power of the GE Force Series 8 cards. I have noticed that the graphics appear to be crisper than before and the game seems to go faster between turns.

    My computer is a 2.8 GHz Pentium with 1 MB of RAM.

    One nice thing they have done is dress the characters, such as worker, settler, etc. in clothing specific to that civ.
     
  19. samiratou

    samiratou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    For me, it does. In addition to the animals, I've noticed the Wonder videos play more smoothly. I haven't gotten deep into a game yet, but we'll see if it slows down less during the latter part of games or if *gasp* I can play on maps bigger than standard without hosing the whole thing later on.
     
  20. ATopic22

    ATopic22 Clan SPADE Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    United States

    Dont you mean ATI X1300 because Nividia has no such thing and dont you mean 1G of ram instead of 1 mb
     

Share This Page